Before you read the numbers.
The annual fee is disclosed as waived for the first year. The recurring fee from year two is the number that matters over the life of the account.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 35.99% |
|---|---|
| Cash advance APR | 35.99% |
| Annual fee | $50 |
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
| Grace period | 21 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $1 |
Analysis
These Pricing Disclosures are part of the Cardholder Agreement., as filed by Mrv Banks, carries a 35.99% purchase APR and a $50 annual fee. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 97th percentile.
What this filing discloses
Mrv Banks submitted the terms for These Pricing Disclosures are part of the Cardholder Agreement. to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. The filing runs 15 pages.
On the record here: a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A balance transfer rate, a penalty rate and a foreign transaction fee are not stated.
How the purchase rate compares
Measured against every other filing on the site, 35.99% is about the 97th percentile for purchase APR; it ranks among the most expensive figures in the whole collection.
Translating the rate into money
The purchase rate turns a $2,000 revolving balance into roughly $866 of annual interest.
On a median-priced agreement from this index (21.99%) the same $2,000 would run about $492 a year, so this card costs in the region of $374 more annually for the identical balance.
There is also a floor: the filing sets a minimum interest charge of $1, so any cycle that accrues less than that is billed at $1 anyway.
That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.
The fee structure
$50 a year is the disclosed annual fee, which ranks near the 88th percentile of the fees filed across this corpus.
For scale, $50 is approximately what $139 of revolving balance would cost in interest over twelve months at this card's 35.99% rate.
Year one is free of the fee per the filing; $50 applies thereafter.
Taking cash against the card means a cash advance APR of 35.99%.
When a payment is late
$41 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 89th percentile of the set.
Paying in full
Purchases carry a 21-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies. With a corpus median of 25 days, this window is narrower than the norm.
A minimum interest charge of $1 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.
The limits of this document
Absent from the captured terms: balance transfer terms, a foreign transaction fee and penalty pricing. The original document is the place to look for any of these.
More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.
Against the rest of Mrv Banks's filings
There are 10 filings from Mrv Banks in this index. Across that lineup purchase rates span 18% to 35.99%; this filing's 35.99% sits above 6 of the comparable ones.
Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 2 of 7 come in below this card's $50.
Reading the agreement yourself
The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs 15 pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.
In short
This is an expensive agreement by the standards of the corpus, driven by a 35.99% purchase rate that is inert for a transactor and punishing for a revolver. Note that the $50 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Mrv Banks filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Mrv Banks, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Mrv Banks
-
These Pricing Disclosures are part of the Cardholder Agreement.
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $75
-
These Pricing Disclosures are part of the Cardholder Agreement.
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $100
-
These Pricing Disclosures are part of the Cardholder Agreement.
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $125
-
Cardholder Agreement Builder (Groundwork)
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 29.99%
- Annual fee
- $75