Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

EX Eng Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 34.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for EX Eng Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Purchase APR34.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Late payment feeup to $41
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

On the record for EX Eng Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum: a 34.99% purchase APR and a 39.99% penalty rate, filed by Synchrony Financial. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 84th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

What the document actually states

What follows is drawn entirely from Synchrony Financial's CFPB filing for EX Eng Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum. The filing runs five pages.

On the record here: a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line are not stated.

The purchase rate in context

At 34.99%, the purchase APR falls at roughly the 84th percentile of the 2,280 filings indexed here, which sits in the expensive end of the corpus.

Translating the rate into money

Carry $5,000 on this card for a year without paying it down and the purchase rate alone generates roughly $2,093 in interest.

A card priced at the corpus median of 21.99% would charge roughly $1,229 on that balance. This one charges about $864 more per year.

There is also a floor: the filing sets a minimum interest charge of $2, so any cycle that accrues less than that is billed at $2 anyway.

Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.

When a payment is late

A penalty APR of 39.99% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 86th percentile.

That is 5 points above the standard purchase rate. On a $1,000 balance, the shift from 34.99% to 39.99% adds something like $73 of interest over a year — the real cost of the default, quite apart from the fee itself.

$41 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 89th percentile of the set.

The grace period

Purchases carry a 23-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies. With a corpus median of 25 days, this window is narrower than the norm.

Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $2. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.

What you cannot learn from the filing

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

The issuer's other agreements

There are 212 filings from Synchrony Financial in this index. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 0% to 34.99%, and this one at 34.99% is more expensive than 35 of them.

Where the authority sits

The original filing, 5 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

This is an expensive agreement by the standards of the corpus, driven by a 34.99% purchase rate that is inert for a transactor and punishing for a revolver.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial