Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

L Fish Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 34.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for L Fish Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Purchase APR34.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Late payment feeup to $41
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

The L Fish Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum filing from Synchrony Financial sets out a 34.99% purchase APR and a 39.99% penalty rate. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 84th percentile.

The disclosed terms

Synchrony Financial submitted the terms for L Fish Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. The filing runs five pages.

Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. It is silent on a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line.

The purchase rate in context

34.99% puts the purchase APR near the 84th percentile across 2,280 agreements, so it lands high in the distribution.

What the rate means in dollars

Put $4,000 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $1,675.

A card priced at the corpus median of 21.99% would charge roughly $983 on that balance. This one charges about $691 more per year.

Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $116.65.

There is also a floor: the filing sets a minimum interest charge of $2, so any cycle that accrues less than that is billed at $2 anyway.

These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.

Default pricing

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 39.99% — about the 86th percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

That is 5 points above the standard purchase rate. On a $1,000 balance, the shift from 34.99% to 39.99% adds something like $73 of interest over a year — the real cost of the default, quite apart from the fee itself.

The maximum late fee is $41 — roughly the 89th percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

The grace period

23 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.

The $2 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.

How it sits in the issuer's own range

212 separate Synchrony Financial filings appear in the corpus. The issuer's own range is 0%–34.99%. At 34.99%, this agreement is dearer than 35 of its siblings.

What is outside the disclosure

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Where the authority sits

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, five pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

The defining fact about this filing is the purchase rate: at 34.99% it is in the expensive band of this corpus, and that cost only materialises for someone who revolves a balance.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial