Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 34.99% |
|---|---|
| Penalty APR | 39.99% |
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
| Grace period | 23 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $2 |
Analysis
The Mattress Discounters Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum filing from Synchrony Financial sets out a 34.99% purchase APR and a 39.99% penalty rate. That purchase rate ranks near the 84th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.
What the agreement puts on the record
Synchrony Financial filed this agreement for Mattress Discounters Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The filing runs five pages.
On the record here: a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. It is silent on a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line.
Pricing the purchase rate
Measured against every other filing on the site, 34.99% is about the 84th percentile for purchase APR; it sits in the expensive end of the corpus.
What a balance actually costs
At the disclosed purchase APR, $1,200 revolving for a full year costs something like $502 in interest.
A card priced at the corpus median of 21.99% would charge roughly $295 on that balance. This one charges about $207 more per year.
There is also a floor: the filing sets a minimum interest charge of $2, so any cycle that accrues less than that is billed at $2 anyway.
These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.
Penalty pricing and late fees
A penalty APR of 39.99% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 86th percentile.
The jump from 34.99% to 39.99% is 5 percentage points, worth roughly $182 extra per year on $2,500 of balance.
$41 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 89th percentile of the set.
The no-interest path
The filing gives 23 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest. The typical filing here allows 25 days, so this one is tighter than most.
Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $2. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.
What is outside the disclosure
The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.
The issuer's other agreements
There are 212 filings from Synchrony Financial in this index. Across that lineup purchase rates span 0% to 34.99%; this filing's 34.99% sits above 35 of the comparable ones.
The document itself
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — five pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
34.99% on purchases is the number that dominates this agreement. Paid in full each cycle it never applies; carried, it is among the dearer prices in this index.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Synchrony Financial
-
ABT Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 34.99%
-
Adairs Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 34.99%
-
Adorama Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 34.99%
-
America's Tire Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 34.99%