Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

NCI Brakes Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 34.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for NCI Brakes Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Purchase APR34.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Late payment feeup to $41
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

The NCI Brakes Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum filing from Synchrony Financial sets out a 34.99% purchase APR and a 39.99% penalty rate. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 84th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

The disclosed terms

NCI Brakes Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum is one of the agreements Synchrony Financial has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs five pages.

The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line are not stated.

Where the purchase APR sits

The purchase APR of 34.99% places this agreement around the 84th percentile of the set — it sits in the expensive end of the corpus.

The arithmetic of revolving

Carry $2,500 on this card for a year without paying it down and the purchase rate alone generates roughly $1,047 in interest.

The median purchase rate across the corpus is 21.99%; the same balance there would cost about $615. The gap — roughly $432 a year on $2,500 — is the price of this particular filing over a typical one.

Per statement cycle that is on the order of $72.91 on $2,500, which is the number that actually shows up on a bill.

There is also a floor: the filing sets a minimum interest charge of $2, so any cycle that accrues less than that is billed at $2 anyway.

These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.

When a payment is late

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 39.99% — about the 86th percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

The jump from 34.99% to 39.99% is 5 percentage points, worth roughly $73 extra per year on $1,000 of balance.

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $41, which is around the 89th percentile here.

Paying in full

23 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. The typical filing here allows 25 days, so this one is tighter than most.

The $2 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.

What is outside the disclosure

This page cannot tell you anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

How it sits in the issuer's own range

This is one of 212 Synchrony Financial agreements collected here. The issuer's own range is 0%–34.99%. At 34.99%, this agreement is dearer than 35 of its siblings.

Reading the agreement yourself

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, five pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

34.99% on purchases is the number that dominates this agreement. Paid in full each cycle it never applies; carried, it is among the dearer prices in this index.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial