Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

SEE Eyewear Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 34.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for SEE Eyewear Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Purchase APR34.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Late payment feeup to $41
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

The SEE Eyewear Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum filing from Synchrony Financial sets out a 34.99% purchase APR and a 39.99% penalty rate. That purchase rate ranks near the 84th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

What the document actually states

Synchrony Financial filed this agreement for SEE Eyewear Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The filing runs five pages.

The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line are not stated.

Pricing the purchase rate

Ranked against the corpus, this purchase APR — 34.99% — sits at approximately the 84th percentile and lands high in the distribution.

The arithmetic of revolving

The purchase rate turns a $4,000 revolving balance into roughly $1,675 of annual interest.

On a median-priced agreement from this index (21.99%) the same $4,000 would run about $983 a year, so this card costs in the region of $691 more annually for the identical balance.

Month to month it reads as about $116.65 per cycle on that balance.

Small balances do not get a proportionally small bill — the agreement imposes a $2 minimum interest charge in any month where interest applies.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

The downside terms

A penalty APR of 39.99% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 86th percentile.

The jump from 34.99% to 39.99% is 5 percentage points, worth roughly $218 extra per year on $3,000 of balance.

$41 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 89th percentile of the set.

Grace period and minimum charge

Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 23 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.

A minimum interest charge of $2 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.

The issuer's other agreements

Synchrony Financial has 212 agreements indexed on this site. The issuer's own range is 0%–34.99%. At 34.99%, this agreement is dearer than 35 of its siblings.

What is outside the disclosure

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.

The document itself

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, five pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

The defining fact about this filing is the purchase rate: at 34.99% it is in the expensive band of this corpus, and that cost only materialises for someone who revolves a balance.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial