Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

Star Lumber Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 34.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Star Lumber Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Purchase APR34.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Late payment feeup to $41
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

The Star Lumber Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum filing from Synchrony Financial sets out a 34.99% purchase APR and a 39.99% penalty rate. That purchase rate ranks near the 84th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

The disclosed terms

This page covers the agreement Synchrony Financial filed for Star Lumber Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum. The filing runs five pages.

The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line are not stated.

The purchase APR against the corpus

34.99% puts the purchase APR near the 84th percentile across 2,280 agreements, so it is costlier than the large majority of filings here.

What the rate means in dollars

Put $1,500 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $628.

On a median-priced agreement from this index (21.99%) the same $1,500 would run about $369 a year, so this card costs in the region of $259 more annually for the identical balance.

Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $43.74.

Small balances do not get a proportionally small bill — the agreement imposes a $2 minimum interest charge in any month where interest applies.

Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.

The grace period

23 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. The typical filing here allows 25 days, so this one is tighter than most.

The $2 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.

Default pricing

If the account defaults, the filing permits a rate of 39.99%. Among disclosing agreements here that ranks near the 86th percentile.

That is 5 points above the standard purchase rate. On a $2,000 balance, the shift from 34.99% to 39.99% adds something like $145 of interest over a year — the real cost of the default, quite apart from the fee itself.

The maximum late fee is $41 — roughly the 89th percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

The issuer's other agreements

212 separate Synchrony Financial filings appear in the corpus. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 0% to 34.99%, and this one at 34.99% is more expensive than 35 of them.

What is outside the disclosure

Absent from the captured terms: anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

Reading the agreement yourself

The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs five pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.

In short

This is an expensive agreement by the standards of the corpus, driven by a 34.99% purchase rate that is inert for a transactor and punishing for a revolver.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial