Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

Truckers Preferred Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 34.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Truckers Preferred Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Purchase APR34.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Late payment feeup to $41
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

Truckers Preferred Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum, as filed by Synchrony Financial, carries a 34.99% purchase APR and a 39.99% penalty rate. That purchase rate ranks near the 84th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

The disclosed terms

The document behind this page is Synchrony Financial's filed agreement for Truckers Preferred Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum. The filing runs five pages.

Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. It is silent on a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line.

Pricing the purchase rate

Set beside the rest of the index, the purchase APR of 34.99% lands at the 84th percentile; it sits in the expensive end of the corpus.

The arithmetic of revolving

Put $2,500 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $1,047.

Against the corpus median of 21.99%, that is approximately $432 a year of extra interest on the same $2,500.

Month to month it reads as about $72.91 per cycle on that balance.

There is also a floor: the filing sets a minimum interest charge of $2, so any cycle that accrues less than that is billed at $2 anyway.

Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.

The grace period

The filing gives 23 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest. With a corpus median of 25 days, this window is narrower than the norm.

The $2 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.

When a payment is late

If the account defaults, the filing permits a rate of 39.99%. Among disclosing agreements here that ranks near the 86th percentile.

Measured in money, moving from 34.99% to 39.99% costs an extra $145 or so annually on $2,000 — a far larger number than any single late fee.

$41 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 89th percentile of the set.

How it sits in the issuer's own range

This is one of 212 Synchrony Financial agreements collected here. The issuer's own range is 0%–34.99%. At 34.99%, this agreement is dearer than 35 of its siblings.

The limits of this document

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.

Reading the agreement yourself

The original filing, 5 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

34.99% on purchases is the number that dominates this agreement. Paid in full each cycle it never applies; carried, it is among the dearer prices in this index.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial