Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Bank of Missouri, the

CHA 202404F01 5 First Access CHA with Pricing

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 35.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Before you read the numbers.

The annual fee is disclosed as waived for the first year. The recurring fee from year two is the number that matters over the life of the account.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for CHA 202404F01 5 First Access CHA with Pricing
Purchase APR35.99%
Cash advance APR35.99%
Annual fee$48
Late payment feeup to $41
Cash advance feeNone
Minimum interest charge$1

Analysis

On the record for CHA 202404F01 5 First Access CHA with Pricing: a 35.99% purchase APR and a $48 annual fee, filed by Bank of Missouri, the. That purchase rate ranks near the 97th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

What the document actually states

Bank of Missouri, the submitted the terms for CHA 202404F01 5 First Access CHA with Pricing to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. The filing runs 15 pages.

The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A balance transfer rate, a penalty rate and a foreign transaction fee are not stated.

Where the purchase APR sits

The purchase APR of 35.99% places this agreement around the 97th percentile of the set — it is at the extreme upper end of the corpus.

The cost of carrying a balance

Put $4,000 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $1,732.

The median purchase rate across the corpus is 21.99%; the same balance there would cost about $983. The gap — roughly $748 a year on $4,000 — is the price of this particular filing over a typical one.

Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $120.03.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

The fee structure

Holding the card costs $48 a year before any transaction takes place — about the 86th percentile among agreements in this index that state a fee.

For scale, $48 is approximately what $133 of revolving balance would cost in interest over twelve months at this card's 35.99% rate.

Year one is free of the fee per the filing; $48 applies thereafter.

Cash advances carry a cash advance APR of 35.99%. The grace period described below generally does not extend to cash advances, so interest on them usually begins immediately.

The downside terms

Late payments are capped at $41 under this filing, about the 89th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

Paying in full

The $1 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.

What the filing does not tell you

The disclosure parsed here does not state balance transfer terms, a foreign transaction fee, a grace period and penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

How it sits in the issuer's own range

This is one of 120 Bank of Missouri, the agreements collected here. Across that lineup purchase rates span 24.9% to 36%; this filing's 35.99% sits above 99 of the comparable ones.

Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 24 of 79 come in below this card's $48.

Go to the source

The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs 15 pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.

In short

This is an expensive agreement by the standards of the corpus, driven by a 35.99% purchase rate that is inert for a transactor and punishing for a revolver. The $48 annual fee is charged regardless of use, so it is a cost that applies even to an account that never revolves.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Bank of Missouri, the filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Bank of Missouri, the, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Bank of Missouri, the

Other cards from Bank of Missouri, the

All 120 agreements from Bank of Missouri, the