Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 26.99% |
|---|---|
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
| Grace period | 23 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $2 |
Analysis
On the record for Horizon Services Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum: a 26.99% purchase APR, filed by Synchrony Financial. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 65th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.
What this filing discloses
Synchrony Financial filed this agreement for Horizon Services Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The filing runs five pages.
On the record here: a purchase rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. No figure appears for a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate.
These figures carry medium extraction confidence — they are reproduced as read from the filing, which remains the authority.
Pricing the purchase rate
Ranked against the corpus, this purchase APR — 26.99% — sits at approximately the 65th percentile and runs above the midpoint of the corpus.
The cost of carrying a balance
The purchase rate turns a $5,000 revolving balance into roughly $1,549 of annual interest.
The median purchase rate across the corpus is 21.99%; the same balance there would cost about $1,229. The gap — roughly $319 a year on $5,000 — is the price of this particular filing over a typical one.
Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $112.12.
There is also a floor: the filing sets a minimum interest charge of $2, so any cycle that accrues less than that is billed at $2 anyway.
That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.
The downside terms
$41 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 89th percentile of the set.
Paying in full
Purchases carry a 23-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.
The $2 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.
Against the rest of Synchrony Financial's filings
There are 212 filings from Synchrony Financial in this index. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 0% to 34.99%, and this one at 26.99% is more expensive than 18 of them.
What you cannot learn from the filing
The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.
Where the authority sits
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — five pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
26.99% is an unexceptional purchase rate in this collection, and the rest of the terms follow the same pattern. All of this rests on figures read from the filing with less than full confidence, which is reason enough to check the document before relying on any of it.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Synchrony Financial
-
Bryant Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 26.99%
-
Generac Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 26.99%
-
Lennox Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 26.99%
-
Mitsubishi Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 26.99%