Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

The Number Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Information

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 29.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for The Number Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Information
Purchase APR29.99%
Late payment feeup to $39
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

Synchrony Financial's filed agreement for The Number Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Information discloses a 29.99% purchase APR. That purchase rate ranks near the 74th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

On the face of the filing

This page covers the agreement Synchrony Financial filed for The Number Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Information. The filing runs five pages.

The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. It is silent on a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate.

Confidence in the parse of this filing is moderate rather than high, so the figures below are best checked against the original.

Where the purchase APR sits

Set beside the rest of the index, the purchase APR of 29.99% lands at the 74th percentile; it comes in above the median.

What the rate means in dollars

At the disclosed purchase APR, $2,500 revolving for a full year costs something like $874 in interest.

The median purchase rate across the corpus is 21.99%; the same balance there would cost about $615. The gap — roughly $259 a year on $2,500 — is the price of this particular filing over a typical one.

Per statement cycle that is on the order of $62.36 on $2,500, which is the number that actually shows up on a bill.

Small balances do not get a proportionally small bill — the agreement imposes a $2 minimum interest charge in any month where interest applies.

These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.

The grace period

23 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.

The $2 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.

Penalty pricing and late fees

Late payments are capped at $39 under this filing, about the 63rd percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

Inside Synchrony Financial's filed lineup

212 separate Synchrony Financial filings appear in the corpus. The issuer's own range is 0%–34.99%. At 29.99%, this agreement is dearer than 28 of its siblings.

The limits of this document

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Go to the source

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — five pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

29.99% is an unexceptional purchase rate in this collection, and the rest of the terms follow the same pattern. Given the parsing confidence on this filing, read the agreement itself before treating any of these figures as settled.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial