Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

United Nations Federal Credit Union

Schumer Box Disclosure

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 15.15%–17.24%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Before you read the numbers.

The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.

The annual fee is disclosed as waived for the first year. The recurring fee from year two is the number that matters over the life of the account.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Schumer Box Disclosure
Purchase APR15.15%–17.24% (variable)
Introductory APR0%
Cash advance APR15.15%
Annual fee$50
Late payment feeup to $25
Foreign transaction fee1%
Grace period25 days

Analysis

The Schumer Box Disclosure filing from United Nations Federal Credit Union sets out a purchase APR of 15.15%–17.24%, a $50 annual fee and a 0% opening rate. That purchase rate ranks near the 21st percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

The disclosed terms

United Nations Federal Credit Union filed this agreement for Schumer Box Disclosure with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The filing runs one page.

The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. It is silent on a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate.

What the promotional rate is worth

The filing discloses a 0% introductory rate, though it does not state how long the promotional period runs.

Zero-percent openings appear in roughly 458 of the filings on this site, which puts this agreement in a sizeable minority rather than a class of its own.

The go-to rate is 17.24%. Any balance still outstanding when the promotion lapses starts accruing at that figure — about $941 a year on $5,000.

The purchase rate in context

Purchases price between 15.15% and 17.24% under this filing. The 2.09-point gap between the two is material, and nothing in the agreement indicates where a given account would land.

Read against the index, the low end ranks around the 34th percentile and the high end around the 21st — the band straddles a wide stretch of the market this corpus describes.

The agreement labels the purchase rate variable, so the quoted figure reflects the index at the time of filing rather than a locked-in price.

To be precise about which number this is: the filing identifies it as the rate that takes over after the introductory period, not the introductory rate.

Translating the rate into money

At the disclosed purchase APR, $1,000 revolving for a full year costs something like $188 in interest.

The corpus median purchase rate is 21.99%, which on the same $1,000 would cost about $246 a year. This filing saves roughly $58 annually against that benchmark.

These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.

The downside terms

The maximum late fee is $25 — roughly the 32nd percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

What the card costs before you borrow

The annual fee is $50, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 88th percentile.

For scale, $50 is approximately what $290 of revolving balance would cost in interest over twelve months at this card's 17.24% rate.

The filing states the fee is waived for the first year, so the $50 is a second-year cost rather than an immediate one.

Cash advances carry a cash advance APR of 15.15%.

Spending abroad costs an extra 1% — about $20 on $2,000 of purchases, independent of interest.

The grace period

Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies.

What the filing does not tell you

This page cannot tell you balance transfer terms and penalty pricing, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.

More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.

Where the authority sits

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — one page. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

17.24% is an unexceptional purchase rate in this collection, and the rest of the terms follow the same pattern. Note that the $50 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement United Nations Federal Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by United Nations Federal Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to United Nations Federal Credit Union

Other cards from United Nations Federal Credit Union

This is the only agreement from United Nations Federal Credit Union in the database with enough disclosed terms to publish. See the issuer's full filing list.

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.