Before you read the numbers.
This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Penalty APR | 26.74% |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | $95 |
| Late payment fee | up to $40 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 2.7% |
| Cash advance fee | Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each |
| Balance transfer fee | Either $5 or 3% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater. |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Network | Amex |
Analysis
Pricing in American Express National Bank's Amex EveryDay Preferred Card Cardmember Agreement agreement is expressed relative to the Prime Rate. This review treats those figures as margins, which is what they are, and compares the fee terms that can be compared.
What this filing discloses
What follows is drawn entirely from American Express National Bank's CFPB filing for Amex EveryDay Preferred Card Cardmember Agreement. The filing runs ten pages, and It is issued on the Amex network.
Terms captured from the document include a penalty rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. A purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate are not stated.
These figures carry medium extraction confidence — they are reproduced as read from the filing, which remains the authority.
A margin over Prime, not a rate
The rate figures in this agreement are expressed as margins over the Prime Rate rather than as absolute APRs. A margin is not a rate: the rate is the margin plus whatever Prime happens to be.
The filing's margin figures come to 26.74 points for penalty pricing.
No cost illustration appears in this section for a reason: multiplying a margin by a balance produces a meaningless number. The real rate is Prime plus the margin, and Prime is not in this document.
Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.
Paying in full
25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing.
Penalty pricing and late fees
$40 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 72nd percentile of the set.
The fee structure
Holding the card costs $95 a year before any transaction takes place — about the 92nd percentile among agreements in this index that state a fee.
For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater.
A balance transfer costs $5 or 3% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front. The filing does not separately state the rate applied to transferred balances. Shifting $2,000 across attracts something like $60 in fees on day one.
Foreign transactions attract 2.7%. On $1,000 of overseas spending that is $27, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.
That is at the high end of this corpus — around the 83rd percentile of disclosed foreign transaction fees.
How it sits in the issuer's own range
American Express National Bank has 25 agreements indexed on this site.
Its $95 annual fee is higher than 7 of the 24 sibling filings that state one.
What you cannot learn from the filing
Absent from the captured terms: a purchase rate. The original document is the place to look for any of these.
More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.
Where the authority sits
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — ten pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
The honest summary is that this filing discloses a structure rather than a price. The margins are real and comparable to each other; the cost of borrowing is whatever Prime makes it.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement American Express National Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by American Express National Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from American Express National Bank
-
American Express Cash Magnet Card Cardmember Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 2.7%
-
American Express Gold Card Cardmember Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $325
- Foreign tx fee
- None
-
American Express Green Card Cardmember Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $150
- Foreign tx fee
- None
-
Amex EveryDay Card Cardmember Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 2.7%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.