Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 35.99% |
|---|---|
| Balance transfer APR | 35.99% |
| Cash advance APR | 35.99% |
| Penalty APR | 39.99% |
| Annual fee | $3.5 |
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
| Cash advance fee | Either $10.00 or 3.0% of the amount of each N/A |
| Balance transfer fee | 35.99% 0.0986% N/A N/A |
| Minimum interest charge | $3 |
| Network | Mastercard |
Analysis
On the record for Ann Taylor Mastercard® Credit Card or Ann Taylor Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements: a 35.99% purchase APR, a $3.50 annual fee and a 39.99% penalty rate, filed by Comenity Bank. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 97th percentile.
What the document actually states
This page covers the agreement Comenity Bank filed for Ann Taylor Mastercard® Credit Card or Ann Taylor Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements. The filing runs 13 pages, and It is issued on the Mastercard network.
The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate and an annual fee line. A foreign transaction fee and a grace period are not stated.
The purchase rate in context
Measured against every other filing on the site, 35.99% is about the 97th percentile for purchase APR; it is at the extreme upper end of the corpus.
Translating the rate into money
Put $4,000 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $1,732.
The median purchase rate across the corpus is 21.99%; the same balance there would cost about $983. The gap — roughly $748 a year on $4,000 — is the price of this particular filing over a typical one.
Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $120.03.
There is also a floor: the filing sets a minimum interest charge of $3, so any cycle that accrues less than that is billed at $3 anyway.
That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.
Grace period and minimum charge
Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $3. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.
What a missed payment costs
A penalty APR of 39.99% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 86th percentile.
A default therefore reprices the debt by 4 points: about $146 a year more on $2,500, for as long as the penalty rate stands.
Late payments are capped at $41 under this filing, about the 89th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.
The fee structure
The annual fee is $3.50, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 75th percentile.
Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 3% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 35.99%. Advances under roughly $333 are charged the flat $10; larger ones are charged 3%. The grace period described below generally does not extend to cash advances, so interest on them usually begins immediately.
Moving a balance onto this card carries an up-front charge of 35.99% of the amount transferred, with the transferred balance priced at 35.99%. Shifting $7,500 across attracts something like $2,699 in fees on day one.
The issuer's other agreements
This is one of 45 Comenity Bank agreements collected here. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 30.24% to 35.99%, and this one at 35.99% is more expensive than 7 of them.
Its $3.50 annual fee is higher than 15 of the 41 sibling filings that state one.
What is outside the disclosure
The disclosure parsed here does not state a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.
Reading the agreement yourself
The original filing, 13 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
This is an expensive agreement by the standards of the corpus, driven by a 35.99% purchase rate that is inert for a transactor and punishing for a revolver. Note that the $3.50 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Comenity Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Comenity Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Comenity Bank
-
Ann Taylor Mastercard® Credit Card or Ann Taylor Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $3.5
-
Arhaus Archarge Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
-
Bealls Inc Credit Card Bealls Florida Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
-
Bealls Inc Credit Card Bealls Outlet Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.