Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Comenity Bank

Little Switzerland Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 35.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Little Switzerland Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Purchase APR35.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Annual fee$35.88
Late payment feeup to $41
Minimum interest charge$3

Analysis

Little Switzerland Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements, as filed by Comenity Bank, carries a 35.99% purchase APR, a $35.88 annual fee and a 39.99% penalty rate. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 97th percentile.

On the face of the filing

Comenity Bank submitted the terms for Little Switzerland Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. The filing runs 21 pages.

The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a foreign transaction fee are not stated.

The purchase APR against the corpus

Measured against every other filing on the site, 35.99% is about the 97th percentile for purchase APR; it ranks among the most expensive figures in the whole collection.

The arithmetic of revolving

Put $2,000 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $866.

The median purchase rate across the corpus is 21.99%; the same balance there would cost about $492. The gap — roughly $374 a year on $2,000 — is the price of this particular filing over a typical one.

Per statement cycle that is on the order of $60.02 on $2,000, which is the number that actually shows up on a bill.

Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.

Where the fees are

$35.88 a year is the disclosed annual fee, which ranks near the 84th percentile of the fees filed across this corpus.

One way to size that fee: at the card's own purchase rate of 35.99%, $35.88 is roughly the interest a balance of about $100 would generate in a year. The fee is a fixed cost that behaves like perpetual interest on that much debt.

The grace period

A minimum interest charge of $3 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.

Penalty pricing and late fees

If the account defaults, the filing permits a rate of 39.99%. Among disclosing agreements here that ranks near the 86th percentile.

Measured in money, moving from 35.99% to 39.99% costs an extra $117 or so annually on $2,000 — a far larger number than any single late fee.

$41 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 89th percentile of the set.

The issuer's other agreements

Comenity Bank has 45 agreements indexed on this site. The issuer's own range is 30.24%–35.99%. At 35.99%, this agreement is dearer than 7 of its siblings.

Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 22 of 41 come in below this card's $35.88.

The limits of this document

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Where the authority sits

The original filing, 21 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

35.99% on purchases is the number that dominates this agreement. Paid in full each cycle it never applies; carried, it is among the dearer prices in this index. The $35.88 annual fee is charged regardless of use, so it is a cost that applies even to an account that never revolves.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Comenity Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Comenity Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Comenity Bank

Other cards from Comenity Bank

All 45 agreements from Comenity Bank