Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 19.99%–33.99% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Balance transfer APR | 19.99% |
| Cash advance APR | 33.99% |
| Annual fee | $2.99 |
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
| Cash advance fee | 33.99% (v) 0.09312% 26.74% Lexus Pursuits Credit Card Purchases 35.99% 0.0986% N/A (v) = variable PIN for AT M |
| Balance transfer fee | 19.99% (v) 0.05476% 12.74% Purchases and |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
On the record for Lexus Pursuits Visa┬« Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements: a purchase APR of 19.99%–33.99% and a $2.99 annual fee, filed by Comenity Capital Bank. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 79th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.
What this filing discloses
This page covers the agreement Comenity Capital Bank filed for Lexus Pursuits Visa® Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs 23 pages.
On the record here: a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A penalty rate, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period are not stated.
Where the purchase APR sits
The purchase APR is quoted as a range of 19.99% to 33.99%. That 14-point spread is the whole of what the filing commits to; the method for assigning a rate inside it is not in the document.
Read against the index, the low end ranks around the 61st percentile and the high end around the 79th — the band straddles a wide stretch of the market this corpus describes.
This is disclosed as a variable rate. The number above is a snapshot: it tracks an index, so it changes without the agreement being amended.
Translating the rate into money
The purchase rate turns a $2,500 revolving balance into roughly $1,011 of annual interest.
A card priced at the corpus median of 21.99% would charge roughly $615 on that balance. This one charges about $397 more per year.
These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.
Charges beyond interest
The annual fee is $2.99, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 75th percentile.
For scale, $2.99 is approximately what $9 of revolving balance would cost in interest over twelve months at this card's 33.99% rate.
Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of 33.99% and a cash advance APR of 33.99%. Cash advances also tend to fall outside any grace period, which means interest typically starts on day one rather than at the end of a billing cycle.
Balance transfers cost 19.99% of the amount transferred up front and then accrue at 19.99%. On $7,500 that fee is about $1,499 before any interest is charged.
When a payment is late
On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $41, which is around the 89th percentile here.
How it sits in the issuer's own range
100 separate Comenity Capital Bank filings appear in the corpus. Across that lineup purchase rates span 14.74% to 35.99%; this filing's 33.99% sits above 34 of the comparable ones.
Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 35 of 89 come in below this card's $2.99.
What the filing does not tell you
The disclosure parsed here does not state a foreign transaction fee, a grace period and penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Go to the source
Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, 23 pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.
In short
33.99% is an unexceptional purchase rate in this collection, and the rest of the terms follow the same pattern. The $2.99 annual fee is charged regardless of use, so it is a cost that applies even to an account that never revolves.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Comenity Capital Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Comenity Capital Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Comenity Capital Bank
-
Burlington Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 33.99%
- Annual fee
- $35.88
-
Diamonds International Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 33.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
-
Toyota Rewards Visa® Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 33.99%
- Annual fee
- $2.99
-
Bread Cashback® American Express® Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 19.24%–33.74%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 5%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.