Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Comenity Capital Bank

SalonCentric Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 35.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for SalonCentric Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Purchase APR35.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Annual fee$35.88
Late payment feeup to $41
Minimum interest charge$3

Analysis

The SalonCentric Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements filing from Comenity Capital Bank sets out a 35.99% purchase APR, a $35.88 annual fee and a 39.99% penalty rate. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 97th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

On the face of the filing

Comenity Capital Bank filed this agreement for SalonCentric Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The filing runs 20 pages.

The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. No figure appears for a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a foreign transaction fee.

Pricing the purchase rate

At 35.99%, the purchase APR falls at roughly the 97th percentile of the 2,280 filings indexed here, which ranks among the most expensive figures in the whole collection.

The cost of carrying a balance

A $1,200 balance left untouched for twelve months accrues about $520 in interest at this purchase rate.

On a median-priced agreement from this index (21.99%) the same $1,200 would run about $295 a year, so this card costs in the region of $224 more annually for the identical balance.

Month to month it reads as about $36.01 per cycle on that balance.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

Fees, and what triggers them

Holding the card costs $35.88 a year before any transaction takes place — about the 84th percentile among agreements in this index that state a fee.

Paying in full

Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $3. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.

Default pricing

If the account defaults, the filing permits a rate of 39.99%. Among disclosing agreements here that ranks near the 86th percentile.

That is 4 points above the standard purchase rate. On a $2,000 balance, the shift from 35.99% to 39.99% adds something like $117 of interest over a year — the real cost of the default, quite apart from the fee itself.

Late payments are capped at $41 under this filing, about the 89th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

Inside Comenity Capital Bank's filed lineup

100 separate Comenity Capital Bank filings appear in the corpus. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 14.74% to 35.99%, and this one at 35.99% is more expensive than 47 of them.

Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 53 of 89 come in below this card's $35.88.

What is outside the disclosure

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

The document itself

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, 20 pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

This is an expensive agreement by the standards of the corpus, driven by a 35.99% purchase rate that is inert for a transactor and punishing for a revolver. Note that the $35.88 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Comenity Capital Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Comenity Capital Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Comenity Capital Bank

Other cards from Comenity Capital Bank

All 100 agreements from Comenity Capital Bank