Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 35.99% |
|---|---|
| Penalty APR | 39.99% |
| Annual fee | $35.88 |
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
| Minimum interest charge | $3 |
Analysis
Comenity Capital Bank's filed agreement for World Market Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements discloses a 35.99% purchase APR, a $35.88 annual fee and a 39.99% penalty rate. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 97th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.
What the agreement puts on the record
World Market Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements is one of the agreements Comenity Capital Bank has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs 13 pages.
Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a foreign transaction fee are not stated.
Pricing the purchase rate
35.99% puts the purchase APR near the 97th percentile across 2,280 agreements, so it sits in the top few percent of the entire set.
The cost of carrying a balance
Put $1,000 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $433.
The median purchase rate across the corpus is 21.99%; the same balance there would cost about $246. The gap — roughly $187 a year on $1,000 — is the price of this particular filing over a typical one.
Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $30.01.
There is also a floor: the filing sets a minimum interest charge of $3, so any cycle that accrues less than that is billed at $3 anyway.
Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.
The grace period
A minimum interest charge of $3 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.
Default pricing
If the account defaults, the filing permits a rate of 39.99%. Among disclosing agreements here that ranks near the 86th percentile.
Measured in money, moving from 35.99% to 39.99% costs an extra $146 or so annually on $2,500 — a far larger number than any single late fee.
Late payments are capped at $41 under this filing, about the 89th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.
The fee structure
The annual fee is $35.88, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 84th percentile.
The issuer's other agreements
There are 100 filings from Comenity Capital Bank in this index. The issuer's own range is 14.74%–35.99%. At 35.99%, this agreement is dearer than 47 of its siblings.
What is outside the disclosure
The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.
Reading the agreement yourself
Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, 13 pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.
In short
The defining fact about this filing is the purchase rate: at 35.99% it is in the expensive band of this corpus, and that cost only materialises for someone who revolves a balance. Note that the $35.88 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Comenity Capital Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Comenity Capital Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Comenity Capital Bank
-
B&H Payboo Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $35.88
-
Ballard Designs Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $35.88
-
Banter Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $3.5
-
Bed Bath & Beyond Credit Cards Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $35.88