Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Commerce Bank

*pricing Information for Affinity Rewards Credit Card

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for *pricing Information for Affinity Rewards Credit Card
Penalty APR23.99%
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction fee2%
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each
Balance transfer feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$2.5

Analysis

Commerce Bank prices *pricing Information for Affinity Rewards Credit Card as a margin over the Prime Rate rather than as a fixed APR, so the filing discloses the spread but not the cost. This page explains what that means and sets the other disclosed terms against the corpus.

The disclosed terms

The document behind this page is Commerce Bank's filed agreement for *pricing Information for Affinity Rewards Credit Card. The filing runs one page.

On the record here: a penalty rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. It is silent on a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.

Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.

How this filing expresses its pricing

This filing does not quote finished APRs. It states margins — numbers that are added to the Prime Rate to produce the rate actually charged. Everything below should be read that way.

As read from the document: 23.99 points for penalty pricing.

Because the filing prices off an index, the dollar cost of a balance cannot be computed from the document alone. It is the current Prime Rate that completes the sum, and that changes.

The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.

When a payment is late

$40 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 72nd percentile of the set.

What the card costs before you borrow

Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater.

Transfers are charged $10 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater, though no distinct transfer APR appears in the document. Transferring $2,000 would cost roughly $100 at the door.

Foreign transactions attract 2%. On $1,500 of overseas spending that is $30, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.

The grace period

The filing gives 25 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.

The $2.50 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.

Inside Commerce Bank's filed lineup

165 separate Commerce Bank filings appear in the corpus.

What is outside the disclosure

The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate and an annual fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Reading the agreement yourself

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, one page of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

What can be said is how this card is priced, not what it costs. That distinction is the whole of the analysis here, and the agreement is the place to confirm the index it uses.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Commerce Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Commerce Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Commerce Bank

Other cards from Commerce Bank

All 165 agreements from Commerce Bank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.