Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

First International Bank and Trust

1 9 26 ONYX Level A Cardholder Agreement

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 17.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for 1 9 26 ONYX Level A Cardholder Agreement
Purchase APR17.99% (variable)
Introductory APR2.9% for 6 months
Balance transfer APR17.99%
Cash advance APR20.99%
Annual fee$495
Late payment feeup to $35
Foreign transaction fee1%
Cash advance feeEither $5 or 3% of the amount of each
Balance transfer feeEither $5 or 3% of the amount of each
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$1

Analysis

First International Bank and Trust's filed agreement for 1 9 26 ONYX Level A Cardholder Agreement discloses a 17.99% purchase APR, a $495 annual fee and a 2.9% introductory rate. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 28th percentile.

What this filing discloses

What follows is drawn entirely from First International Bank and Trust's CFPB filing for 1 9 26 ONYX Level A Cardholder Agreement. The filing runs four pages.

On the record here: a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. It is silent on a penalty rate.

Introductory pricing

For the first six months the filing sets a reduced rate of 2.9%. Balances still cost something during that window.

Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 2.9% sits at about the 73rd percentile.

Behind the promotion sits a 17.99% purchase rate. On $2,000 that is in the region of $394 a year once the window closes.

The purchase rate in context

The purchase APR of 17.99% places this agreement around the 28th percentile of the set — it undercuts the typical filing.

This is disclosed as a variable rate. The number above is a snapshot: it tracks an index, so it changes without the agreement being amended.

The arithmetic of revolving

Put $4,000 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $788.

The corpus median purchase rate is 21.99%, which on the same $4,000 would cost about $983 a year. This filing saves roughly $195 annually against that benchmark.

Month to month it reads as about $59.57 per cycle on that balance.

Note the $1 minimum interest charge, which overrides the arithmetic above whenever the calculated interest falls below it.

Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.

Where the fees are

The annual fee is $495, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 99th percentile.

Expressed in the card's own terms, the $495 fee equals about a year's interest on a $2,752 balance at the disclosed 17.99% purchase rate.

Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of $5 or 3% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 20.99%. Cash is therefore 3 points dearer than buying something with the card.

Balance transfers cost $5 or 3% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front and then accrue at 17.99%. On $5,000 that fee is about $150 before any interest is charged.

Spending abroad costs an extra 1% — about $50 on $5,000 of purchases, independent of interest.

The grace period

Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies.

The $1 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.

Penalty pricing and late fees

$35 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 54th percentile of the set.

Against the rest of First International Bank and Trust's filings

16 separate First International Bank and Trust filings appear in the corpus. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 9.99% to 27.99%, and this one at 17.99% is more expensive than 5 of them.

What is outside the disclosure

The disclosure parsed here does not state penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

Reading the agreement yourself

The original filing, 4 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

The pricing here is middling by the standards of the index — 17.99% on purchases is near enough to typical. Against that sits the $495 annual fee, which is unavoidable once the account is open.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement First International Bank and Trust filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by First International Bank and Trust, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to First International Bank and Trust

Other cards from First International Bank and Trust

All 16 agreements from First International Bank and Trust

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.