Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

PNC Bank

Agreement Secured Credit Card final

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Agreement Secured Credit Card final
Penalty APR15.74%
Annual fee$36
Late payment feeup to $35
Foreign transaction fee3%
Grace period21 days
Minimum interest charge$1.5

Analysis

Agreement Secured Credit Card final, as filed by PNC Bank, carries a $36 annual fee and a 15.74% penalty rate.

What this filing discloses

The document behind this page is PNC Bank's filed agreement for Agreement Secured Credit Card final. The filing runs 14 pages.

The disclosure covers a penalty rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. No figure appears for a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.

Confidence in the parse of this filing is moderate rather than high, so the figures below are best checked against the original.

Collateral and the deposit

The product name identifies this as a secured card, which means the account is backed by a deposit the cardholder provides. The filing indexed here discloses rates and fees; it is the agreement text that governs how the deposit is held, when it is applied and under what conditions it is returned.

Where the fees are

Holding the card costs $36 a year before any transaction takes place — about the 86th percentile among agreements in this index that state a fee.

Foreign transactions attract 3%. On $1,000 of overseas spending that is $30, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.

That is at the high end of this corpus — around the 91st percentile of disclosed foreign transaction fees.

What a missed payment costs

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 15.74% — about the 5th percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

Late payments are capped at $35 under this filing, about the 54th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

Grace period and minimum charge

Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 21 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.

The $1.50 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.

What is outside the disclosure

Absent from the captured terms: a purchase rate, anything about cash advances and balance transfer terms. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

Against the rest of PNC Bank's filings

20 separate PNC Bank filings appear in the corpus.

Where the authority sits

The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs 14 pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.

In short

Against that sits the $36 annual fee, which is unavoidable once the account is open. All of this rests on figures read from the filing with less than full confidence, which is reason enough to check the document before relying on any of it.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement PNC Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by PNC Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to PNC Bank

Other cards from PNC Bank

All 20 agreements from PNC Bank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.