Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

S a F E Credit Union

Platinum Cash Rewards Secured Visa Credit Card

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Platinum Cash Rewards Secured Visa Credit Card
Late payment feeup to $15
Foreign transaction fee1%
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$0
NetworkVisa

Analysis

The Platinum Cash Rewards Secured Visa Credit Card filing quotes margins over Prime instead of finished rates. What that leaves knowable — and what it does not — is the subject of this analysis.

What this filing discloses

S a F E Credit Union filed this agreement for Platinum Cash Rewards Secured Visa Credit Card with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The filing runs nine pages, and It is issued on the Visa network.

Terms captured from the document include a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. A purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate are not stated.

Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.

How this filing expresses its pricing

Pricing here is disclosed in the form "Prime plus a margin". The numbers in this document are therefore the margin component only, and cannot be read as the cost of borrowing on their own.

No cost illustration appears in this section for a reason: multiplying a margin by a balance produces a meaningless number. The real rate is Prime plus the margin, and Prime is not in this document.

Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.

What a missed payment costs

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $15, which is around the 11th percentile here.

Charges beyond interest

Spending abroad costs an extra 1% — about $15 on $1,500 of purchases, independent of interest.

Paying in full

Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.

The filing sets the minimum interest charge at zero — small balances are not rounded up to a floor.

The issuer's other agreements

S a F E Credit Union has 15 agreements indexed on this site.

What the filing does not tell you

The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate, anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms and an annual fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.

The document itself

The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs nine pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.

In short

Margins over Prime make this agreement legible but not priceable from the document alone. Treat the figures above as structure, and look up the current Prime Rate before drawing conclusions.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement S a F E Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by S a F E Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to S a F E Credit Union

Other cards from S a F E Credit Union

All 15 agreements from S a F E Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.