Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

Chicos Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum FINAL

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Chicos Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum FINAL
Penalty APR39.99%
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $41
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

Pricing in Synchrony Financial's Chicos Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum FINAL agreement is expressed relative to the Prime Rate. This review treats those figures as margins, which is what they are, and compares the fee terms that can be compared.

What the document actually states

Synchrony Financial submitted the terms for Chicos Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum FINAL to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. The filing runs six pages.

The disclosure covers a penalty rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a grace period. It is silent on a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.

The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.

Priced off the Prime Rate

This filing does not quote finished APRs. It states margins — numbers that are added to the Prime Rate to produce the rate actually charged. Everything below should be read that way.

As read from the document: 39.99 points for penalty pricing.

The practical consequence is that this card has no single disclosed price. The cost of carrying a balance moves whenever the Prime Rate moves, in lockstep and without notice, and no arithmetic on this page can tell you what it costs today.

These figures carry medium extraction confidence — they are reproduced as read from the filing, which remains the authority.

Fees, and what triggers them

No annual fee appears in the filing, in line with the roughly 75% of disclosing agreements in this index that charge nothing to hold the card.

What a missed payment costs

$41 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 89th percentile of the set.

Grace period and minimum charge

23 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. The typical filing here allows 25 days, so this one is tighter than most.

Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $2. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.

Against the rest of Synchrony Financial's filings

Synchrony Financial has 212 agreements indexed on this site. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 0% to 34.99%, though this particular filing does not state one in comparable form.

What the filing does not tell you

The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate, anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

The document itself

The original filing, 6 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

What can be said is how this card is priced, not what it costs. That distinction is the whole of the analysis here, and the agreement is the place to confirm the index it uses.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.