Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 14.2%–19.2% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Introductory APR | 0% |
| Cash advance APR | 14.2% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $25 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 1% |
| Balance transfer fee | Either $10.00 or 4% of the amount of each |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $1 |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
On the record for Business Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure: a purchase APR of 14.2%–19.2%, no annual fee and a 0% opening rate, filed by The St. Marys State Bank. That purchase rate ranks near the 41st percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.
On the face of the filing
Business Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure is one of the agreements The St. Marys State Bank has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs ten pages, and It is issued on the Visa network.
Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. It is silent on a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate.
Zero percent, and then what
The filing discloses a 0% introductory rate, though it does not state how long the promotional period runs.
About 458 agreements in this corpus carry a zero-percent opening rate; this is one of them.
Once the introductory period ends the rate becomes 19.2%, which turns a lingering $3,000 balance into approximately $635 of annual interest.
Pricing the purchase rate
The purchase APR is quoted as a range of 14.2% to 19.2%. That 5-point spread is the whole of what the filing commits to; the method for assigning a rate inside it is not in the document.
The floor of that band sits at about the 28th percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 41st. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.
The agreement labels the purchase rate variable, so the quoted figure reflects the index at the time of filing rather than a locked-in price.
Translating the rate into money
Carry $5,000 on this card for a year without paying it down and the purchase rate alone generates roughly $1,058 in interest.
Measured against the 21.99% corpus median, the same $5,000 costs approximately $171 less per year here.
Per statement cycle that is on the order of $79.51 on $5,000, which is the number that actually shows up on a bill.
Note the $1 minimum interest charge, which overrides the arithmetic above whenever the calculated interest falls below it.
Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.
Default pricing
$25 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 32nd percentile of the set.
Charges beyond interest
No annual fee appears in the filing, in line with the roughly 75% of disclosing agreements in this index that charge nothing to hold the card.
Taking cash against the card means a cash advance APR of 14.2%.
A balance transfer costs $10 or 4% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front. The filing does not separately state the rate applied to transferred balances. Shifting $3,000 across attracts something like $120 in fees on day one.
The filing sets a 1% foreign transaction fee, which adds roughly $50 to $5,000 spent outside the United States.
Paying in full
25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.
The $1 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.
Against the rest of The St. Marys State Bank's filings
The St. Marys State Bank has 3 agreements indexed on this site. The others all file the same 15.2% purchase rate. Whatever separates these products, it is not the cost of borrowing.
The limits of this document
Absent from the captured terms: penalty pricing. The original document is the place to look for any of these.
It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.
The document itself
The original filing, 10 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
At 19.2% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement The St. Marys State Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by The St. Marys State Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from The St. Marys State Bank
-
Consumer Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 10.2%–15.2%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
-
Secured Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 15.2%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.