Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

TIB, National Association

Card Disclosure

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

The only purchase rate this filing states is a promotional one. The rate that applies after the promotional period is not disclosed in this document, and it is the more important of the two.

The annual fee is disclosed as waived for the first year. The recurring fee from year two is the number that matters over the life of the account.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Card Disclosure
Introductory APR9.9% for 9 months
Cash advance APR19.9%
Annual fee$35
Late payment feeup to $25
Balance transfer feeEither $10 or 3% of the amount of each
Grace period25 days

Analysis

TIB, National Association's filed agreement for Card Disclosure 169 discloses a $35 annual fee and a 9.9% introductory rate.

What the document actually states

TIB, National Association submitted the terms for Card Disclosure 169 to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. The filing runs four pages.

Terms captured from the document include a cash advance rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a grace period. No figure appears for a purchase rate, a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate.

The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.

The introductory rate

The introductory rate is 9.9%, held for nine months. It is a discount rather than a holiday — interest still accrues, just more slowly than the go-to rate.

Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 9.9% sits at about the 92nd percentile.

Only the introductory figure parsed cleanly here. Since the rate after the promotion is the one that governs the account for most of its life, this page cannot describe the real cost of the card.

Default pricing

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $25, which is around the 32nd percentile here.

Charges beyond interest

The annual fee is $35, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 82nd percentile.

Year one is free of the fee per the filing; $35 applies thereafter.

Taking cash against the card means a cash advance APR of 19.9%. The grace period described below generally does not extend to cash advances, so interest on them usually begins immediately.

Transfers are charged $10 or 3% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater, though no distinct transfer APR appears in the document. On $7,500 that fee is about $225 before any interest is charged.

The grace period

The filing gives 25 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.

Inside TIB, National Association's filed lineup

This is one of 52 TIB, National Association agreements collected here. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 9.25% to 17.49%, though this particular filing does not state one in comparable form.

The limits of this document

Absent from the captured terms: a purchase rate, a foreign transaction fee and penalty pricing. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.

Reading the agreement yourself

The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs four pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.

In short

Against that sits the $35 annual fee, which is unavoidable once the account is open. All of this rests on figures read from the filing with less than full confidence, which is reason enough to check the document before relying on any of it.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement TIB, National Association filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by TIB, National Association, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to TIB, National Association

Other cards from TIB, National Association

  • Card Disclosure

    Agreement filed with the CFPB

    Purchase APR
    17.49%
    Annual fee
    $35
    Intro APR
    5.9%
  • Card Disclosure

    Agreement filed with the CFPB

    Purchase APR
    17.49%
    Annual fee
    $0
    Intro APR
    2.9%
  • Card Disclosure

    Agreement filed with the CFPB

    Purchase APR
    12.49%
    Annual fee
    $0
    Intro APR
    2.9%
  • Card Disclosure

    Agreement filed with the CFPB

    Annual fee
    $35

All 52 agreements from TIB, National Association

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.