Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

TIB, National Association

Card Disclosure

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

The only purchase rate this filing states is a promotional one. The rate that applies after the promotional period is not disclosed in this document, and it is the more important of the two.

The annual fee is disclosed as waived for the first year. The recurring fee from year two is the number that matters over the life of the account.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Card Disclosure
Introductory APR9.9% for 9 months
Cash advance APR19.9%
Annual fee$35
Late payment feeup to $25
Balance transfer feeEither $10 or 3% of the amount of each
Grace period25 days

Analysis

TIB, National Association's filed agreement for Card Disclosure 189 discloses a $35 annual fee and a 9.9% introductory rate.

What the agreement puts on the record

What follows is drawn entirely from TIB, National Association's CFPB filing for Card Disclosure 189. The filing runs four pages.

On the record here: a cash advance rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A purchase rate, a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate are not stated.

The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.

The introductory rate

The introductory rate is 9.9%, held for nine months. It is a discount rather than a holiday — interest still accrues, just more slowly than the go-to rate.

Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 9.9% sits at about the 92nd percentile.

Crucially, the go-to rate is absent from what could be read out of this filing. A promotional rate without the rate that follows it is only half the pricing, and the PDF is the only source for the other half.

Fees, and what triggers them

$35 a year is the disclosed annual fee, which ranks near the 82nd percentile of the fees filed across this corpus.

The filing states the fee is waived for the first year, so the $35 is a second-year cost rather than an immediate one.

Cash advances carry a cash advance APR of 19.9%. Cash advances also tend to fall outside any grace period, which means interest typically starts on day one rather than at the end of a billing cycle.

A balance transfer costs $10 or 3% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front. The filing does not separately state the rate applied to transferred balances. Transferring $3,000 would cost roughly $90 at the door.

When a payment is late

The maximum late fee is $25 — roughly the 32nd percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

Grace period and minimum charge

25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.

The issuer's other agreements

There are 52 filings from TIB, National Association in this index. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 9.25% to 17.49%, though this particular filing does not state one in comparable form.

Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 11 of 45 come in below this card's $35.

What you cannot learn from the filing

This page cannot tell you a purchase rate, a foreign transaction fee and penalty pricing, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

Reading the agreement yourself

The original filing, 4 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

Note that the $35 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not. Given the parsing confidence on this filing, read the agreement itself before treating any of these figures as settled.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement TIB, National Association filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by TIB, National Association, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to TIB, National Association

Other cards from TIB, National Association

  • Card Disclosure

    Agreement filed with the CFPB

    Purchase APR
    17.49%
    Annual fee
    $35
    Intro APR
    5.9%
  • Card Disclosure

    Agreement filed with the CFPB

    Purchase APR
    17.49%
    Annual fee
    $0
    Intro APR
    2.9%
  • Card Disclosure

    Agreement filed with the CFPB

    Purchase APR
    12.49%
    Annual fee
    $0
    Intro APR
    2.9%
  • Card Disclosure

    Agreement filed with the CFPB

    Annual fee
    $35

All 52 agreements from TIB, National Association

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.