Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Tropical Financial Credit Union

Full credit card agreement 10

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 8.99%–16.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Full credit card agreement 10
Purchase APR8.99%–16.99%
Penalty APR17.99%
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $25
Foreign transaction fee1%
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$0
NetworkMastercard

Analysis

The Full credit card agreement 10 2022 filing from Tropical Financial Credit Union sets out a purchase APR of 8.99%–16.99%, no annual fee and a 17.99% penalty rate. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 21st percentile.

What this filing discloses

Tropical Financial Credit Union submitted the terms for Full credit card agreement 10 2022 to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. It is issued on the Mastercard network and the filing runs eight pages.

The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. A cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate are not stated.

Pricing the purchase rate

This is a tiered agreement: the filing discloses a purchase APR anywhere from 8.99% to 16.99%, a spread of 8 percentage points. Which end of that band applies is set by the issuer at account opening and the filing does not say how.

Those two numbers occupy very different places in the corpus: roughly the 7th percentile at the bottom and the 21st at the top.

What a balance actually costs

Put $1,500 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $278.

Priced at the median of 21.99%, that balance would generate about $369 in a year — so this agreement comes in around $91 cheaper for the same debt.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

Charges beyond interest

There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.

The filing sets a 1% foreign transaction fee, which adds roughly $30 to $3,000 spent outside the United States.

What a missed payment costs

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 17.99% — about the 12th percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $25, which is around the 32nd percentile here.

Paying in full

25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing.

No minimum interest charge is imposed, so a cycle that accrues a few cents of interest is billed a few cents.

Inside Tropical Financial Credit Union's filed lineup

There are 11 filings from Tropical Financial Credit Union in this index. The issuer's own range is 16.99%–17.99%. At 16.99%, this agreement is dearer than 0 of its siblings.

What is outside the disclosure

This page cannot tell you anything about cash advances and balance transfer terms, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

The document itself

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — eight pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

At 16.99% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers. Because there is no annual fee, everything depends on the revolving behaviour: used as a payment instrument and cleared monthly, this agreement costs nothing.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Tropical Financial Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Tropical Financial Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Tropical Financial Credit Union

Other cards from Tropical Financial Credit Union

All 11 agreements from Tropical Financial Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.