Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Tucson Federal Credit Union

UPDATED January 2022 Rates and Disclosures

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 2.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Before you read the numbers.

The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.

This document covers more than one card product in a single disclosure table. Figures shown may belong to a sibling product rather than to this one. Check the filing before relying on any individual number.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for UPDATED January 2022 Rates and Disclosures
Purchase APR2.99% (variable)
Introductory APR2.99%
Balance transfer APR0%
Cash advance APR0.5%
Late payment feeup to $3
Foreign transaction fee1%
Grace period25 days
NetworkVisa

Analysis

The UPDATED January 2022 Rates and Disclosures filing from Tucson Federal Credit Union sets out a 2.99% purchase APR and a 2.99% introductory rate. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 2nd percentile.

What the document actually states

What follows is drawn entirely from Tucson Federal Credit Union's CFPB filing for UPDATED January 2022 Rates and Disclosures. The filing runs ten pages, and It is issued on the Visa network.

On the record here: a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. It is silent on a penalty rate and an annual fee line.

One important caveat sits on top of everything else here: the rate table in this filing covers more than one product. Figures shown on this page may belong to a sibling card in the same table rather than to this one, and only the PDF can settle which row applies.

What the promotional rate is worth

The filing discloses an introductory rate of 2.99% but no term for it.

Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 2.99% sits at about the 79th percentile.

Behind the promotion sits a 2.99% purchase rate. On $1,000 that is in the region of $30 a year once the window closes.

Where the purchase APR sits

At 2.99%, the purchase APR falls at roughly the 2nd percentile of the 2,280 filings indexed here, which is among the very cheapest figures in the whole set.

Because the rate is variable, the figure quoted is tied to an index and will drift with it. Nothing here is a fixed commitment.

To be precise about which number this is: the filing identifies it as the rate that takes over after the introductory period, not the introductory rate.

The cost of carrying a balance

Put $2,500 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $76.

A typical filing in this index would charge about $615 on that balance; this one is roughly $539 a year below it.

Month to month it reads as about $6.15 per cycle on that balance.

Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.

The fee structure

For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance APR of 0.5%.

Transferred balances are priced at 0%; no separate transfer fee was captured from the filing.

Spending abroad costs an extra 1% — about $30 on $3,000 of purchases, independent of interest.

The downside terms

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $3, which is around the 4th percentile here.

The no-interest path

The filing gives 25 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest.

How it sits in the issuer's own range

There are 19 filings from Tucson Federal Credit Union in this index. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 2.99% to 18%, and this one at 2.99% is more expensive than 0 of them.

What the filing does not tell you

The disclosure parsed here does not state an annual fee and penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

The document itself

The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs ten pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.

In short

2.99% places this filing at the inexpensive end of the set, which is the headline here. The multi-product table is the larger caveat: these numbers are the table's, not necessarily this card's.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Tucson Federal Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Tucson Federal Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Tucson Federal Credit Union

Other cards from Tucson Federal Credit Union

All 19 agreements from Tucson Federal Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.