Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 32% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Cash advance APR | 32% |
| Annual fee | $29 |
| Cash advance fee | $50 maximum. |
| Grace period | 21 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $0.5 |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
The Visa Secured Card Pricing Addendum filing from UMB Bank sets out a 32% purchase APR and a $29 annual fee. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 76th percentile.
What this filing discloses
UMB Bank submitted the terms for Visa Secured Card Pricing Addendum to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs one page.
On the record here: a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, an annual fee line and a grace period. A balance transfer rate, a penalty rate and a late payment maximum are not stated.
Collateral and the deposit
The product name identifies this as a secured card, which means the account is backed by a deposit the cardholder provides. The filing indexed here discloses rates and fees; it is the agreement text that governs how the deposit is held, when it is applied and under what conditions it is returned.
For context, the 32% purchase rate lands around the 76th percentile of all the agreements on this site, which is the useful comparison regardless of the deposit.
How the purchase rate compares
Measured against every other filing on the site, 32% is about the 76th percentile for purchase APR; it is dearer than the typical filing.
This is disclosed as a variable rate. The number above is a snapshot: it tracks an index, so it changes without the agreement being amended.
What the rate means in dollars
Carry $3,000 on this card for a year without paying it down and the purchase rate alone generates roughly $1,131 in interest.
Against the corpus median of 21.99%, that is approximately $393 a year of extra interest on the same $3,000.
Small balances do not get a proportionally small bill — the agreement imposes a $0.50 minimum interest charge in any month where interest applies.
That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.
Where the fees are
Holding the card costs $29 a year before any transaction takes place — about the 80th percentile among agreements in this index that state a fee.
For scale, $29 is approximately what $91 of revolving balance would cost in interest over twelve months at this card's 32% rate.
Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $50 and a cash advance APR of 32%.
The no-interest path
The filing gives 21 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest. With a corpus median of 25 days, this window is narrower than the norm.
Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $0.50. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.
What the filing does not tell you
The disclosure parsed here does not state balance transfer terms, a foreign transaction fee and penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Against the rest of UMB Bank's filings
UMB Bank has 12 agreements indexed on this site. Across that lineup purchase rates span 18% to 36%; this filing's 32% sits above 6 of the comparable ones.
Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 4 of 4 come in below this card's $29.
Go to the source
The original filing, 1 page long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
At 32% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers. The $29 annual fee is charged regardless of use, so it is a cost that applies even to an account that never revolves.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement UMB Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by UMB Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from UMB Bank
-
Private Label Card Cardholder Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 36%
-
Card Services Visa Card Pricing Addendum
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 24.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 32%
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
Visa Card with Variable APR Pricing Addendum
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 24.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 32%
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
Sports and Entertainment Co brand Card Cardholder Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 22.99%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.