Before you read the numbers.
The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 29.9% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Introductory APR | 0% |
| Cash advance APR | 29.9% |
| Annual fee | $25 |
| Late payment fee | up to $40 |
| Cash advance fee | Either $3 or 3% of the amount of each |
| Balance transfer fee | Either $3 or 3% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater |
| Grace period | 21 days |
Analysis
On the record for MasterCard or Visa Credit Card Pricing Information: a 29.9% purchase APR, a $25 annual fee and a 0% opening rate, filed by 1st Financial Bank USA. That purchase rate ranks near the 72nd percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.
What this filing discloses
1st Financial Bank USA filed this agreement for MasterCard or Visa Credit Card Pricing Information with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The filing runs one page.
The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A balance transfer rate, a penalty rate and a foreign transaction fee are not stated.
The interest-free window
A 0% promotional rate appears in the document without an accompanying term — the length of the window is not captured.
About 458 agreements in this corpus carry a zero-percent opening rate; this is one of them.
Once the introductory period ends the rate becomes 29.9%, which turns a lingering $1,000 balance into approximately $348 of annual interest.
Where the purchase APR sits
Ranked against the corpus, this purchase APR — 29.9% — sits at approximately the 72nd percentile and sits in the more expensive half.
This is disclosed as a variable rate. The number above is a snapshot: it tracks an index, so it changes without the agreement being amended.
To be precise about which number this is: the filing identifies it as the rate that takes over after the introductory period, not the introductory rate.
What the rate means in dollars
The purchase rate turns a $2,500 revolving balance into roughly $871 of annual interest.
A card priced at the corpus median of 21.99% would charge roughly $615 on that balance. This one charges about $256 more per year.
Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.
The downside terms
$40 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 72nd percentile of the set.
Where the fees are
Holding the card costs $25 a year before any transaction takes place — about the 78th percentile among agreements in this index that state a fee.
One way to size that fee: at the card's own purchase rate of 29.9%, $25 is roughly the interest a balance of about $84 would generate in a year. The fee is a fixed cost that behaves like perpetual interest on that much debt.
For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of $3 or 3% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 29.9%. Advances under roughly $100 are charged the flat $3; larger ones are charged 3%. The grace period described below generally does not extend to cash advances, so interest on them usually begins immediately.
Transfers are charged $3 or 3% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater, though no distinct transfer APR appears in the document. Transferring $3,000 would cost roughly $90 at the door.
Paying in full
21 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.
Inside 1st Financial Bank USA's filed lineup
There are 23 filings from 1st Financial Bank USA in this index. The issuer's own range is 30.65%–35.15%. At 29.9%, this agreement is dearer than 0 of its siblings.
What is outside the disclosure
Absent from the captured terms: a foreign transaction fee and penalty pricing. The original document is the place to look for any of these.
An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.
Go to the source
The original filing, 1 page long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
The pricing here is middling by the standards of the index — 29.9% on purchases is near enough to typical. The $25 annual fee is charged regardless of use, so it is a cost that applies even to an account that never revolves.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement 1st Financial Bank USA filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by 1st Financial Bank USA, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from 1st Financial Bank USA
-
Mastercard or Visa Credit Card Pricing Info
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 30.65%
- Annual fee
- $25
- Intro APR
- 0%
-
2 Pa027 20220930
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 32.15%
- Annual fee
- $25
- Intro APR
- 0%
-
Mastercard or Visa credit card pricing info
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 33.65%
- Annual fee
- $25
- Intro APR
- 0%
-
Mastercard or Visa Credit Card Pricing Info
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 33.65%
- Annual fee
- $25
- Intro APR
- 0%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.