Before you read the numbers.
The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 14.74%–17.99% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Introductory APR | 0% for 15 months |
| Penalty APR | 18% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $20 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 3% |
| Cash advance fee | $2 Up to 1% of the transaction amount in U.S. dollars. |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
On the record for APGFCU Visa Cash Back Credit Card: a purchase APR of 14.74%–17.99%, no annual fee, a 15-month 0% opening period and a 18% penalty rate, filed by Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 28th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.
What this filing discloses
What follows is drawn entirely from Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union's CFPB filing for APGFCU Visa Cash Back Credit Card. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs 11 pages.
The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a grace period are not stated.
The interest-free window
A 15-month promotional period at 0% is on the record here — during it, qualifying balances cost nothing to carry.
Zero-percent openings appear in roughly 458 of the filings on this site, which puts this agreement in a sizeable minority rather than a class of its own.
What matters more than the promotion is the rate waiting behind it: 17.99%. A $2,000 balance that survives the promotional window costs roughly $394 a year from that point on.
Valued honestly, 15 months at zero on $2,000 avoids about $493 of interest compared with the go-to rate — the whole of what the promotion delivers.
Pricing the purchase rate
The purchase APR is quoted as a range of 14.74% to 17.99%. That 3.25-point spread is the whole of what the filing commits to; the method for assigning a rate inside it is not in the document.
The floor of that band sits at about the 31st percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 28th. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.
The agreement labels the purchase rate variable, so the quoted figure reflects the index at the time of filing rather than a locked-in price.
This figure is the post-promotional rate. The introductory pricing is handled separately further down.
What the rate means in dollars
At the disclosed purchase APR, $1,500 revolving for a full year costs something like $296 in interest.
A typical filing in this index would charge about $369 on that balance; this one is roughly $73 a year below it.
That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.
When a payment is late
The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 18% — about the 19th percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.
The maximum late fee is $20 — roughly the 17th percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.
The fee structure
The annual fee is $0. Roughly 75% of filings here that state a fee state zero, so the absence of one is unremarkable in this market.
For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of $2 or 1% of the advance, whichever is greater. $200 is the crossover point where the percentage overtakes the $2 minimum.
The filing sets a 3% foreign transaction fee, which adds roughly $60 to $2,000 spent outside the United States.
That is at the high end of this corpus — around the 91st percentile of disclosed foreign transaction fees.
How it sits in the issuer's own range
Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union has 4 agreements indexed on this site. The issuer's own range is 6.75%–17.99%. At 17.99%, this agreement is dearer than 1 of its siblings.
What is outside the disclosure
Absent from the captured terms: balance transfer terms and a grace period. The original document is the place to look for any of these.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Where the authority sits
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — 11 pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
The pricing here is middling by the standards of the index — 17.99% on purchases is near enough to typical. Because there is no annual fee, everything depends on the revolving behaviour: used as a payment instrument and cleared monthly, this agreement costs nothing.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union
-
APGFCU Visa Platinum Preferred Credit Card
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 12.49%–17.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
- Foreign tx fee
- 3%
-
APGFCU Visa Platinum Preferred Rewards Credit Card
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 13.99%–17.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
- Foreign tx fee
- 3%
-
APGFCU Classroom Supply Visa Credit Card
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 6.75%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- None
All 4 agreements from Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.
- 1 9 26 AMP Level B Cardholder Agreement17.99%
- Buc ees Platinum Mastercard Disclosure13.49%–17.99%
- Business Mastercard Disclosure14.49%–17.99%
- CAMPUS USA Credit Union Pricing Addendum 0411.9%–17.99%
- Cash Rewards Credit Card Agreement and…14.74%–17.99%
- CC Agreement and Pricing Addendum 2025 06…15.24%–17.99%