Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union

APGFCU Classroom Supply Visa Credit Card

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 6.75%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for APGFCU Classroom Supply Visa Credit Card
Purchase APR6.75% (variable)
Penalty APR18%
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $20
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance fee$2 Up to 1% of the transaction amount in U.S. dollars.
NetworkVisa

Analysis

Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union's filed agreement for APGFCU Classroom Supply Visa Credit Card discloses a 6.75% purchase APR, no annual fee and a 18% penalty rate. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 2nd percentile.

What this filing discloses

Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union filed this agreement for APGFCU Classroom Supply Visa Credit Card with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The filing runs 11 pages, and It is issued on the Visa network.

Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a grace period are not stated.

Pricing the purchase rate

Set beside the rest of the index, the purchase APR of 6.75% lands at the 2nd percentile; it lands at the extreme low end of the filings.

The agreement labels the purchase rate variable, so the quoted figure reflects the index at the time of filing rather than a locked-in price.

The arithmetic of revolving

At the disclosed purchase APR, $1,500 revolving for a full year costs something like $105 in interest.

The corpus median purchase rate is 21.99%, which on the same $1,500 would cost about $369 a year. This filing saves roughly $264 annually against that benchmark.

Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.

Fees, and what triggers them

No annual fee appears in the filing, in line with the roughly 75% of disclosing agreements in this index that charge nothing to hold the card.

Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $2 or 1% of the advance, whichever is greater. The two halves of that fee cross at about $200: below it the flat $2 applies, above it the percentage does.

No foreign transaction fee is charged, which puts this filing in the roughly 22% of disclosing agreements here that do not take a cut of overseas spending.

What a missed payment costs

A penalty APR of 18% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 19th percentile.

A default therefore reprices the debt by 11.25 points: about $382 a year more on $3,000, for as long as the penalty rate stands.

Late payments are capped at $20 under this filing, about the 17th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

Inside Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union's filed lineup

Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union has 4 agreements indexed on this site. The others all file the same 17.99% purchase rate. Whatever separates these products, it is not the cost of borrowing.

What you cannot learn from the filing

Absent from the captured terms: balance transfer terms and a grace period. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

Where the authority sits

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — 11 pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

At 6.75% the purchase rate is low relative to this corpus, which is the clearest thing the filing has going for it on cost. With no annual fee, the cost of the account is entirely a function of whether a balance is carried.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union

Other cards from Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union

All 4 agreements from Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.