Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

American Express National Bank

Delta SkyMiles Blue American Express Card Cardmember Agreement

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Delta SkyMiles Blue American Express Card Cardmember Agreement
Penalty APR26.74%
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each
Grace period25 days
NetworkAmex

Analysis

Pricing in American Express National Bank's Delta SkyMiles Blue American Express Card Cardmember Agreement agreement is expressed relative to the Prime Rate. This review treats those figures as margins, which is what they are, and compares the fee terms that can be compared.

The disclosed terms

American Express National Bank submitted the terms for Delta SkyMiles Blue American Express Card Cardmember Agreement to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. The filing runs 12 pages, and It is issued on the Amex network.

On the record here: a penalty rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. A purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate are not stated.

The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.

A margin over Prime, not a rate

What this agreement discloses is a set of margins added to the Prime Rate. Until Prime is supplied, none of these figures is an APR, and this page will not treat them as one.

As read from the document: 26.74 points for penalty pricing.

Because the filing prices off an index, the dollar cost of a balance cannot be computed from the document alone. It is the current Prime Rate that completes the sum, and that changes.

The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.

The grace period

Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 25 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.

Default pricing

$40 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 72nd percentile of the set.

What the card costs before you borrow

There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.

Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater. Advances under roughly $200 are charged the flat $10; larger ones are charged 5%.

Foreign transactions carry no fee. Only about 22% of the filings here that disclose a foreign transaction fee set it at zero, so this is a genuine point of difference.

Inside American Express National Bank's filed lineup

There are 25 filings from American Express National Bank in this index.

On fees, 5 of the 24 sibling filings that disclose an annual fee also set it at zero — this one is among them.

What the filing does not tell you

The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate and balance transfer terms. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

The document itself

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, 12 pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

The honest summary is that this filing discloses a structure rather than a price. The margins are real and comparable to each other; the cost of borrowing is whatever Prime makes it.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement American Express National Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by American Express National Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to American Express National Bank

Other cards from American Express National Bank

All 25 agreements from American Express National Bank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.