Before you read the numbers.
This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Penalty APR | 29.99% |
|---|---|
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 5% |
| Cash advance fee | 5% % of Transaction Same-Day Online |
| Grace period | 25 days |
Analysis
Bank of America prices Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards English as a margin over the Prime Rate rather than as a fixed APR, so the filing discloses the spread but not the cost. This page explains what that means and sets the other disclosed terms against the corpus.
What the document actually states
This page covers the agreement Bank of America filed for Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards English. The filing runs 11 pages.
The disclosure covers a penalty rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. No figure appears for a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.
These figures carry medium extraction confidence — they are reproduced as read from the filing, which remains the authority.
A margin over Prime, not a rate
The rate figures in this agreement are expressed as margins over the Prime Rate rather than as absolute APRs. A margin is not a rate: the rate is the margin plus whatever Prime happens to be.
The margins captured from the filing are 29.99 points for penalty pricing.
Because the filing prices off an index, the dollar cost of a balance cannot be computed from the document alone. It is the current Prime Rate that completes the sum, and that changes.
Confidence in the parse of this filing is moderate rather than high, so the figures below are best checked against the original.
What the card costs before you borrow
Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of 5%.
Spending abroad costs an extra 5% — about $150 on $3,000 of purchases, independent of interest.
That is at the high end of this corpus — around the 99th percentile of disclosed foreign transaction fees.
When a payment is late
The maximum late fee is $41 — roughly the 89th percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.
Paying in full
The filing gives 25 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.
Inside Bank of America's filed lineup
32 separate Bank of America filings appear in the corpus.
What the filing does not tell you
Absent from the captured terms: a purchase rate, balance transfer terms and an annual fee. The original document is the place to look for any of these.
More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.
The document itself
The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs 11 pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.
In short
Margins over Prime make this agreement legible but not priceable from the document alone. Treat the figures above as structure, and look up the current Prime Rate before drawing conclusions.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Bank of America filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Bank of America, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Bank of America
-
Air France KLM Visa Signature English
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Terms
- Not disclosed in filing
-
Allways Rewards Visa English
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Terms
- Not disclosed in filing
-
Atmos Rewards Ascent Visa Signature English
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Terms
- Not disclosed in filing
-
Atmos Rewards Summit Visa Infinite English
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Terms
- Not disclosed in filing
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.