Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 35.9% |
|---|---|
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 1% |
| Cash advance fee | $5 or 5% of the amount of each transaction, whichever is greater (not to exceed $100) |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $1 |
| Network | Mastercard |
Analysis
Celtic Bank's filed agreement for Indigo Mastercard Cardholder Agreement 679 discloses a 35.9% purchase APR. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 91st percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.
What this filing discloses
Indigo Mastercard Cardholder Agreement 679 is one of the agreements Celtic Bank has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs 14 pages, and It is issued on the Mastercard network.
Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate are not stated.
The purchase rate in context
Set beside the rest of the index, the purchase APR of 35.9% lands at the 91st percentile; it is costlier than the large majority of filings here.
What a balance actually costs
A $2,000 balance left untouched for twelve months accrues about $863 in interest at this purchase rate.
A card priced at the corpus median of 21.99% would charge roughly $492 on that balance. This one charges about $372 more per year.
Per statement cycle that is on the order of $59.86 on $2,000, which is the number that actually shows up on a bill.
Small balances do not get a proportionally small bill — the agreement imposes a $1 minimum interest charge in any month where interest applies.
Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.
Fees, and what triggers them
For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of $5 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater. The two halves of that fee cross at about $100: below it the flat $5 applies, above it the percentage does.
The filing sets a 1% foreign transaction fee, which adds roughly $50 to $5,000 spent outside the United States.
The downside terms
Late payments are capped at $41 under this filing, about the 89th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.
Paying in full
The filing gives 25 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest.
The $1 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.
The issuer's other agreements
This is one of 92 Celtic Bank agreements collected here. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 22.49% to 35.9%, and this one at 35.9% is more expensive than 25 of them.
What is outside the disclosure
The disclosure parsed here does not state balance transfer terms, an annual fee and penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Where the authority sits
Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, 14 pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.
In short
The defining fact about this filing is the purchase rate: at 35.9% it is in the expensive band of this corpus, and that cost only materialises for someone who revolves a balance.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Celtic Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Celtic Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Celtic Bank
-
Concora Credit Account Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.9%
-
Concora Credit Account Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.9%
-
Concora Credit Account Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.9%
-
Concora Credit Account Agreement Raymour & Flanigan
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.9%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.