Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Citibank

AAdvantage Executive World Elite Pricing and Information Table

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 19.49%–29.49%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for AAdvantage Executive World Elite Pricing and Information Table
Purchase APR19.49%–29.49% (variable)
Balance transfer APR19.49%
Cash advance APR29.74%
Penalty APR29.99%
Annual fee$595
Late payment feeup to $41
Balance transfer fee0.05340% to 0.08079% 12.74% to 22.74%
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$0.5

Analysis

On the record for AAdvantage Executive World Elite Pricing and Information Table: a purchase APR of 19.49%–29.49%, a $595 annual fee and a 29.99% penalty rate, filed by Citibank. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 70th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

On the face of the filing

This page covers the agreement Citibank filed for AAdvantage Executive World Elite Pricing and Information Table. The filing runs two pages.

The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate and an annual fee line. A foreign transaction fee is not stated.

Pricing the purchase rate

The purchase APR is quoted as a range of 19.49% to 29.49%. That 10-point spread is the whole of what the filing commits to; the method for assigning a rate inside it is not in the document.

Read against the index, the low end ranks around the 59th percentile and the high end around the 70th — the band straddles a wide stretch of the market this corpus describes.

Because the rate is variable, the figure quoted is tied to an index and will drift with it. Nothing here is a fixed commitment.

What the rate means in dollars

At the disclosed purchase APR, $5,000 revolving for a full year costs something like $1,714 in interest.

The median purchase rate across the corpus is 21.99%; the same balance there would cost about $1,229. The gap — roughly $485 a year on $5,000 — is the price of this particular filing over a typical one.

Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $122.62.

Note the $0.50 minimum interest charge, which overrides the arithmetic above whenever the calculated interest falls below it.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

What a missed payment costs

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 29.99% — about the 61st percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

$41 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 89th percentile of the set.

The fee structure

$595 a year is the disclosed annual fee, which ranks near the 99th percentile of the fees filed across this corpus.

Expressed in the card's own terms, the $595 fee equals about a year's interest on a $2,018 balance at the disclosed 29.49% purchase rate.

For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance APR of 29.74%. The grace period described below generally does not extend to cash advances, so interest on them usually begins immediately.

Moving a balance onto this card carries an up-front charge of 0.05% of the amount transferred, with the transferred balance priced at 19.49%. Shifting $3,000 across attracts something like $2 in fees on day one.

The grace period

Purchases carry a 23-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.

The $0.50 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.

Inside Citibank's filed lineup

This is one of 82 Citibank agreements collected here. The issuer's own range is 25.99%–34.24%. At 29.49%, this agreement is dearer than 11 of its siblings.

What the filing does not tell you

The disclosure parsed here does not state a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.

Go to the source

The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs two pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.

In short

29.49% is an unexceptional purchase rate in this collection, and the rest of the terms follow the same pattern. Note that the $595 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Citibank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Citibank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Citibank

Other cards from Citibank

All 82 agreements from Citibank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.