Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Comenity Bank

Victoria's Secret Mastercard® Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 35.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Victoria's Secret Mastercard® Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Purchase APR35.99%
Balance transfer APR35.99%
Cash advance APR35.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Annual fee$35.88
Late payment feeup to $41
Foreign transaction fee5%
Cash advance fee35.99% 0.0986% N/A N/A Penalty 39.99% (v) 0.10956% 36.49% 39.99% Victoria's Secret Credit Card Purchases 35.99% 0.0986% N/A N/A Penalty 39.99% (v) 0.10956% 36.49% 39.99% (v) = vari
Balance transfer feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each N/A
Minimum interest charge$3
NetworkMastercard

Analysis

Comenity Bank's filed agreement for Victoria's Secret Mastercard® Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements discloses a 35.99% purchase APR, a $35.88 annual fee and a 39.99% penalty rate. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 97th percentile.

What the document actually states

What follows is drawn entirely from Comenity Bank's CFPB filing for Victoria's Secret Mastercard® Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements. The filing runs 17 pages, and It is issued on the Mastercard network.

On the record here: a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate and an annual fee line. A grace period is not stated.

Pricing the purchase rate

At 35.99%, the purchase APR falls at roughly the 97th percentile of the 2,280 filings indexed here, which ranks among the most expensive figures in the whole collection.

The cost of carrying a balance

At the disclosed purchase APR, $2,500 revolving for a full year costs something like $1,082 in interest.

A card priced at the corpus median of 21.99% would charge roughly $615 on that balance. This one charges about $468 more per year.

There is also a floor: the filing sets a minimum interest charge of $3, so any cycle that accrues less than that is billed at $3 anyway.

These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.

The fee structure

$35.88 a year is the disclosed annual fee, which ranks near the 84th percentile of the fees filed across this corpus.

For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of 35.99% and a cash advance APR of 35.99%.

Balance transfers cost $10 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front and then accrue at 35.99%. On $2,000 that fee is about $100 before any interest is charged.

Spending abroad costs an extra 5% — about $100 on $2,000 of purchases, independent of interest.

That is at the high end of this corpus — around the 99th percentile of disclosed foreign transaction fees.

Default pricing

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 39.99% — about the 86th percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

Measured in money, moving from 35.99% to 39.99% costs an extra $58 or so annually on $1,000 — a far larger number than any single late fee.

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $41, which is around the 89th percentile here.

The no-interest path

Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $3. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.

How it sits in the issuer's own range

This is one of 45 Comenity Bank agreements collected here. Across that lineup purchase rates span 30.24% to 35.99%; this filing's 35.99% sits above 7 of the comparable ones.

Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 22 of 41 come in below this card's $35.88.

The limits of this document

Absent from the captured terms: a grace period. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Go to the source

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — 17 pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

This is an expensive agreement by the standards of the corpus, driven by a 35.99% purchase rate that is inert for a transactor and punishing for a revolver. Note that the $35.88 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Comenity Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Comenity Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Comenity Bank

Other cards from Comenity Bank

All 45 agreements from Comenity Bank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.