Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 28.24%–34.24% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Balance transfer APR | 28.24% |
| Cash advance APR | 35.24% |
| Penalty APR | 39.99% |
| Annual fee | $35.88 |
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
| Cash advance fee | Either $10.00 or 5.0% of the amount of each N/A |
| Balance transfer fee | 34.24% (v) 0.0938% 27.49% N/A Purchases and |
| Minimum interest charge | $3 |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
Comenity Capital Bank's filed agreement for Lands' End┬« Visa Credit Card or Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements discloses a purchase APR of 28.24%–34.24%, a $35.88 annual fee and a 39.99% penalty rate. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 80th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.
What the agreement puts on the record
Comenity Capital Bank submitted the terms for Lands' End® Visa Credit Card or Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs 18 pages.
The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate and an annual fee line. It is silent on a foreign transaction fee and a grace period.
How the purchase rate compares
This is a tiered agreement: the filing discloses a purchase APR anywhere from 28.24% to 34.24%, a spread of 6 percentage points. Which end of that band applies is set by the issuer at account opening and the filing does not say how.
The floor of that band sits at about the 72nd percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 80th. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.
The agreement labels the purchase rate variable, so the quoted figure reflects the index at the time of filing rather than a locked-in price.
What the rate means in dollars
Carry $5,000 on this card for a year without paying it down and the purchase rate alone generates roughly $2,040 in interest.
On a median-priced agreement from this index (21.99%) the same $5,000 would run about $1,229 a year, so this card costs in the region of $811 more annually for the identical balance.
Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $142.64.
Small balances do not get a proportionally small bill — the agreement imposes a $3 minimum interest charge in any month where interest applies.
Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.
Fees, and what triggers them
The annual fee is $35.88, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 84th percentile.
Expressed in the card's own terms, the $35.88 fee equals about a year's interest on a $105 balance at the disclosed 34.24% purchase rate.
Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 35.24%. Cash is therefore 1 points dearer than buying something with the card. $200 is the crossover point where the percentage overtakes the $10 minimum. The grace period described below generally does not extend to cash advances, so interest on them usually begins immediately.
Moving a balance onto this card carries an up-front charge of 34.24% of the amount transferred, with the transferred balance priced at 28.24%. Shifting $2,000 across attracts something like $685 in fees on day one.
The downside terms
If the account defaults, the filing permits a rate of 39.99%. Among disclosing agreements here that ranks near the 86th percentile.
A default therefore reprices the debt by 5.75 points: about $167 a year more on $2,000, for as long as the penalty rate stands.
On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $41, which is around the 89th percentile here.
The grace period
Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $3. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.
How it sits in the issuer's own range
Comenity Capital Bank has 100 agreements indexed on this site. Across that lineup purchase rates span 14.74% to 35.99%; this filing's 34.24% sits above 38 of the comparable ones.
Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 53 of 89 come in below this card's $35.88.
What you cannot learn from the filing
The disclosure parsed here does not state a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.
Where the authority sits
Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, 18 pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.
In short
34.24% is an unexceptional purchase rate in this collection, and the rest of the terms follow the same pattern. Against that sits the $35.88 annual fee, which is unavoidable once the account is open.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Comenity Capital Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Comenity Capital Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Comenity Capital Bank
-
Ford Rewards Visa Signature® Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 21.24%–34.24%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 5%
-
PENN Entertainment Mastercard® Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 20.24%–34.24%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 3%
-
Petco Pay Mastercard® Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 28.24%–34.24%
- Annual fee
- $35.88
- Foreign tx fee
- 5%
-
Burlington Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 33.99%
- Annual fee
- $35.88
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.