Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Continental Bank

V2 34 25 Signature Cardholder Agreement

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 19.24%–34.25%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for V2 34 25 Signature Cardholder Agreement
Purchase APR19.24%–34.25% (variable)
Balance transfer APR1%
Penalty APR36%
Annual fee$99
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction fee3%
Grace period21 days
Minimum interest charge$0
NetworkMastercard

Analysis

The V2 34 25 Signature Cardholder Agreement filing from Continental Bank sets out a purchase APR of 19.24%–34.25%, a $99 annual fee and a 36% penalty rate. That purchase rate ranks near the 80th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

On the face of the filing

Continental Bank submitted the terms for V2 34 25 Signature Cardholder Agreement to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. The filing runs 24 pages, and It is issued on the Mastercard network.

The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A cash advance rate is not stated.

Pricing the purchase rate

Rather than a single purchase rate, the document gives a band — 19.24% at the bottom, 34.25% at the top, 15.01 points wide. The agreement discloses the range without disclosing how an account is placed within it.

The floor of that band sits at about the 58th percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 80th. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.

The agreement labels the purchase rate variable, so the quoted figure reflects the index at the time of filing rather than a locked-in price.

What the rate means in dollars

At the disclosed purchase APR, $3,000 revolving for a full year costs something like $1,225 in interest.

Against the corpus median of 21.99%, that is approximately $487 a year of extra interest on the same $3,000.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

When a payment is late

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 36% — about the 71st percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

A default therefore reprices the debt by 1.75 points: about $75 a year more on $3,000, for as long as the penalty rate stands.

$40 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 72nd percentile of the set.

Where the fees are

The annual fee is $99, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 93rd percentile.

Expressed in the card's own terms, the $99 fee equals about a year's interest on a $289 balance at the disclosed 34.25% purchase rate.

Transferred balances are priced at 1%; no separate transfer fee was captured from the filing.

Foreign transactions attract 3%. On $3,000 of overseas spending that is $90, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.

That is at the high end of this corpus — around the 91st percentile of disclosed foreign transaction fees.

Grace period and minimum charge

The filing gives 21 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest. The typical filing here allows 25 days, so this one is tighter than most.

No minimum interest charge is imposed, so a cycle that accrues a few cents of interest is billed a few cents.

Against the rest of Continental Bank's filings

There are 10 filings from Continental Bank in this index. Across that lineup purchase rates span 34.25% to 35.99%; this filing's 34.25% sits above 0 of the comparable ones.

Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 5 of 9 come in below this card's $99.

What you cannot learn from the filing

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.

The document itself

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, 24 pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

The defining fact about this filing is the purchase rate: at 34.25% it is in the expensive band of this corpus, and that cost only materialises for someone who revolves a balance. Note that the $99 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Continental Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Continental Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Continental Bank

Other cards from Continental Bank

All 10 agreements from Continental Bank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.