Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Commerce Bank

Pricing Information for Affinity Rewards Credit Card

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Pricing Information for Affinity Rewards Credit Card
Penalty APR23.99%
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction fee2%
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each
Balance transfer feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$2.5

Analysis

Pricing in Commerce Bank's Pricing Information for Affinity Rewards Credit Card agreement is expressed relative to the Prime Rate. This review treats those figures as margins, which is what they are, and compares the fee terms that can be compared.

The disclosed terms

This page covers the agreement Commerce Bank filed for Pricing Information for Affinity Rewards Credit Card. The filing runs one page.

On the record here: a penalty rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. It is silent on a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.

The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.

Margins, not APRs

Pricing here is disclosed in the form "Prime plus a margin". The numbers in this document are therefore the margin component only, and cannot be read as the cost of borrowing on their own.

The margins captured from the filing are 23.99 points for penalty pricing.

No cost illustration appears in this section for a reason: multiplying a margin by a balance produces a meaningless number. The real rate is Prime plus the margin, and Prime is not in this document.

Confidence in the parse of this filing is moderate rather than high, so the figures below are best checked against the original.

Fees, and what triggers them

For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater.

Transfers are charged $10 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater, though no distinct transfer APR appears in the document. On $7,500 that fee is about $375 before any interest is charged.

Spending abroad costs an extra 2% — about $60 on $3,000 of purchases, independent of interest.

The downside terms

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $40, which is around the 72nd percentile here.

Grace period and minimum charge

25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.

The $2.50 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.

Against the rest of Commerce Bank's filings

There are 165 filings from Commerce Bank in this index.

What is outside the disclosure

Absent from the captured terms: a purchase rate and an annual fee. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

Reading the agreement yourself

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — one page. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

The honest summary is that this filing discloses a structure rather than a price. The margins are real and comparable to each other; the cost of borrowing is whatever Prime makes it.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Commerce Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Commerce Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Commerce Bank

Other cards from Commerce Bank

All 165 agreements from Commerce Bank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.