Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Commerce Bank

The Family Handyman MasterCard with Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for The Family Handyman MasterCard with Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information
Penalty APR23.99%
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction fee2%
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each
Balance transfer feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$2.5
NetworkMastercard

Analysis

Commerce Bank prices The Family Handyman MasterCard with Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information as a margin over the Prime Rate rather than as a fixed APR, so the filing discloses the spread but not the cost. This page explains what that means and sets the other disclosed terms against the corpus.

What the agreement puts on the record

Commerce Bank filed this agreement for The Family Handyman MasterCard with Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The filing runs one page, and It is issued on the Mastercard network.

The filing is explicit about a penalty rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. It is silent on a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.

The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.

Priced off the Prime Rate

This filing does not quote finished APRs. It states margins — numbers that are added to the Prime Rate to produce the rate actually charged. Everything below should be read that way.

The filing's margin figures come to 23.99 points for penalty pricing.

The practical consequence is that this card has no single disclosed price. The cost of carrying a balance moves whenever the Prime Rate moves, in lockstep and without notice, and no arithmetic on this page can tell you what it costs today.

Confidence in the parse of this filing is moderate rather than high, so the figures below are best checked against the original.

Paying in full

Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies.

Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $2.50. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.

When a payment is late

$40 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 72nd percentile of the set.

Charges beyond interest

Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater. Advances under roughly $200 are charged the flat $10; larger ones are charged 5%.

A balance transfer costs $10 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front. The filing does not separately state the rate applied to transferred balances. Shifting $5,000 across attracts something like $250 in fees on day one.

Spending abroad costs an extra 2% — about $30 on $1,500 of purchases, independent of interest.

The issuer's other agreements

There are 165 filings from Commerce Bank in this index.

The limits of this document

Absent from the captured terms: a purchase rate and an annual fee. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

The document itself

The original filing, 1 page long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

The honest summary is that this filing discloses a structure rather than a price. The margins are real and comparable to each other; the cost of borrowing is whatever Prime makes it.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Commerce Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Commerce Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Commerce Bank

Other cards from Commerce Bank

All 165 agreements from Commerce Bank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.