Before you read the numbers.
This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Penalty APR | 23.99% |
|---|---|
| Late payment fee | up to $40 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 2% |
| Cash advance fee | Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each |
| Balance transfer fee | Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $2.5 |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
Pricing in Commerce Bank's TNA Visa Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information agreement is expressed relative to the Prime Rate. This review treats those figures as margins, which is what they are, and compares the fee terms that can be compared.
What the document actually states
The document behind this page is Commerce Bank's filed agreement for TNA Visa Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information. The filing runs one page, and It is issued on the Visa network.
Terms captured from the document include a penalty rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. A purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate are not stated.
The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.
Margins, not APRs
What this agreement discloses is a set of margins added to the Prime Rate. Until Prime is supplied, none of these figures is an APR, and this page will not treat them as one.
As read from the document: 23.99 points for penalty pricing.
No cost illustration appears in this section for a reason: multiplying a margin by a balance produces a meaningless number. The real rate is Prime plus the margin, and Prime is not in this document.
The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.
Fees, and what triggers them
For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater. $200 is the crossover point where the percentage overtakes the $10 minimum.
A balance transfer costs $10 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front. The filing does not separately state the rate applied to transferred balances. Transferring $2,000 would cost roughly $100 at the door.
Spending abroad costs an extra 2% — about $100 on $5,000 of purchases, independent of interest.
The no-interest path
Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies.
The $2.50 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.
Penalty pricing and late fees
$40 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 72nd percentile of the set.
Against the rest of Commerce Bank's filings
There are 165 filings from Commerce Bank in this index.
What the filing does not tell you
The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate and an annual fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.
Go to the source
The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs one page. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.
In short
Margins over Prime make this agreement legible but not priceable from the document alone. Treat the figures above as structure, and look up the current Prime Rate before drawing conclusions.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Commerce Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Commerce Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Commerce Bank
-
*pricing Information for Affinity Rewards Credit Card
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
AACS Visa Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
AARN Visa Signature Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
Anvil Brand Visa Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.