Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Dow Credit Union

Rebate Eligible Visa

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 12.49%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Rebate Eligible Visa
Purchase APR12.49% (variable)
Introductory APR3.9% for 15 months
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $25
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$0
NetworkVisa

Analysis

Rebate Eligible Visa, as filed by Dow Credit Union, carries a 12.49% purchase APR, no annual fee and a 3.9% introductory rate. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 9th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

The disclosed terms

What follows is drawn entirely from Dow Credit Union's CFPB filing for Rebate Eligible Visa. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs seven pages.

On the record here: a purchase rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a grace period. It is silent on a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate.

The introductory rate

A promotional rate of 3.9% applies for 15 months under this agreement — lower than the standard rate, but not free.

Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 3.9% sits at about the 83rd percentile.

Behind the promotion sits a 12.49% purchase rate. On $2,000 that is in the region of $266 a year once the window closes.

Where the purchase APR sits

Set beside the rest of the index, the purchase APR of 12.49% lands at the 9th percentile; it sits well down in the cheaper fifth of the set.

The filing marks this rate as variable, which means it moves with the index the agreement names rather than staying where it is quoted today.

What the rate means in dollars

A $2,500 balance left untouched for twelve months accrues about $333 in interest at this purchase rate.

Priced at the median of 21.99%, that balance would generate about $615 in a year — so this agreement comes in around $282 cheaper for the same debt.

Month to month it reads as about $25.79 per cycle on that balance.

Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.

Fees, and what triggers them

There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.

Grace period and minimum charge

Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies.

No minimum interest charge is imposed, so a cycle that accrues a few cents of interest is billed a few cents.

What a missed payment costs

Late payments are capped at $25 under this filing, about the 32nd percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

How it sits in the issuer's own range

3 separate Dow Credit Union filings appear in the corpus. The issuer's own range is 10.49%–13.49%. At 12.49%, this agreement is dearer than 1 of its siblings.

What you cannot learn from the filing

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, a foreign transaction fee and penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Reading the agreement yourself

The original filing, 7 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

At 12.49% the purchase rate is low relative to this corpus, which is the clearest thing the filing has going for it on cost.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Dow Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Dow Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Dow Credit Union

Other cards from Dow Credit Union

  • Rewards Visa

    Agreement filed with the CFPB

    Purchase APR
    13.49%
    Annual fee
    $0
  • Low Rate Visa

    Agreement filed with the CFPB

    Purchase APR
    10.49%
    Annual fee
    $0
    Intro APR
    0%

All 3 agreements from Dow Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.