Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Down East Credit Union

DEast 106932 VCC Brochure MAY20

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for DEast 106932 VCC Brochure MAY20
Balance transfer APR11.9%
Late payment feeup to $32
Foreign transaction fee1%
Balance transfer fee4% of
NetworkVisa

Analysis

Down East Credit Union filed this agreement for DEast 106932 VCC Brochure MAY20.

What the agreement puts on the record

DEast 106932 VCC Brochure MAY20 is one of the agreements Down East Credit Union has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs four pages, and It is issued on the Visa network.

The disclosure covers a balance transfer rate, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. It is silent on a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a penalty rate.

Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.

The fee structure

The transfer fee is 4% of the amount transferred; transferred balances then run at 11.9%. Transferring $3,000 would cost roughly $120 at the door.

The filing sets a 1% foreign transaction fee, which adds roughly $50 to $5,000 spent outside the United States.

Default pricing

The maximum late fee is $32 — roughly the 50th percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

What you cannot learn from the filing

Absent from the captured terms: a purchase rate, anything about cash advances, an annual fee and a grace period. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

The document itself

The original filing, 4 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

Given the parsing confidence on this filing, read the agreement itself before treating any of these figures as settled.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Down East Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Down East Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Down East Credit Union

Other cards from Down East Credit Union

This is the only agreement from Down East Credit Union in the database with enough disclosed terms to publish. See the issuer's full filing list.

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.