Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Dupage Credit Union

Visa Thrive Truth in Lending Terms and Conditions docx

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 10.75%–18.75%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Before you read the numbers.

The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Visa Thrive Truth in Lending Terms and Conditions docx
Purchase APR10.75%–18.75% (variable)
Introductory APR0% for 12 months
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $25
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeEither $5 or 3% of the amount of each
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$0
NetworkVisa

Analysis

Visa Thrive Truth in Lending Terms and Conditions docx, as filed by Dupage Credit Union, carries a purchase APR of 10.75%–18.75%, no annual fee and a 12-month 0% opening period. That purchase rate ranks near the 39th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

What the document actually states

Visa Thrive Truth in Lending Terms and Conditions docx is one of the agreements Dupage Credit Union has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs five pages, and It is issued on the Visa network.

The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. It is silent on a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate.

The promotional period

This agreement opens at 0% for 12 months, the only period in the document where carrying a balance is free.

Roughly 458 of the 4,587 filings indexed here disclose a zero-percent introductory rate, so this is a real feature of the document but not a rare one.

Behind the promotion sits a 18.75% purchase rate. On $5,000 that is in the region of $1,031 a year once the window closes.

Valued honestly, 12 months at zero on $5,000 avoids about $1,031 of interest compared with the go-to rate — the whole of what the promotion delivers.

Pricing the purchase rate

The purchase APR is quoted as a range of 10.75% to 18.75%. That 8-point spread is the whole of what the filing commits to; the method for assigning a rate inside it is not in the document.

The floor of that band sits at about the 13th percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 39th. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.

Because the rate is variable, the figure quoted is tied to an index and will drift with it. Nothing here is a fixed commitment.

To be precise about which number this is: the filing identifies it as the rate that takes over after the introductory period, not the introductory rate.

What the rate means in dollars

At the disclosed purchase APR, $2,000 revolving for a full year costs something like $412 in interest.

A typical filing in this index would charge about $492 on that balance; this one is roughly $79 a year below it.

Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.

Charges beyond interest

The annual fee is $0. Roughly 75% of filings here that state a fee state zero, so the absence of one is unremarkable in this market.

For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of $5 or 3% of the advance, whichever is greater. $167 is the crossover point where the percentage overtakes the $5 minimum.

The foreign transaction fee is zero — a minority position in this corpus, where roughly 22% of disclosing filings waive it.

What a missed payment costs

The maximum late fee is $25 — roughly the 32nd percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

Paying in full

25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing.

The filing sets the minimum interest charge at zero — small balances are not rounded up to a floor.

How it sits in the issuer's own range

This is one of 10 Dupage Credit Union agreements collected here. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 18.5% to 24.5%, and this one at 18.75% is more expensive than 2 of them.

What you cannot learn from the filing

The disclosure parsed here does not state balance transfer terms and penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Reading the agreement yourself

The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs five pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.

In short

At 18.75% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers. Because there is no annual fee, everything depends on the revolving behaviour: used as a payment instrument and cleared monthly, this agreement costs nothing.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Dupage Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Dupage Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Dupage Credit Union

Other cards from Dupage Credit Union

All 10 agreements from Dupage Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.