Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

JPMORGAN Chase Bank

Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table
Balance transfer APR19.74%
Cash advance APR28.49%
Penalty APR29.99%
Annual fee$525
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each transaction, whichever is greater.
Balance transfer feeEither $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater.
Minimum interest charge$0

Analysis

On the record for Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table: a $525 annual fee and a 29.99% penalty rate, filed by JPMORGAN Chase Bank.

What this filing discloses

This page covers the agreement JPMORGAN Chase Bank filed for Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table. The filing runs 22 pages.

Terms captured from the document include a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A purchase rate and a grace period are not stated.

The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.

The fee structure

Holding the card costs $525 a year before any transaction takes place — about the 99th percentile among agreements in this index that state a fee.

Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 28.49%. Advances under roughly $200 are charged the flat $10; larger ones are charged 5%. The grace period described below generally does not extend to cash advances, so interest on them usually begins immediately.

The transfer fee is $5 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater; transferred balances then run at 19.74%. Transferring $2,000 would cost roughly $100 at the door.

Foreign transactions carry no fee. Only about 22% of the filings here that disclose a foreign transaction fee set it at zero, so this is a genuine point of difference.

The grace period

The filing sets the minimum interest charge at zero — small balances are not rounded up to a floor.

What a missed payment costs

A penalty APR of 29.99% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 61st percentile.

Late payments are capped at $40 under this filing, about the 72nd percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

Against the rest of JPMORGAN Chase Bank's filings

There are 26 filings from JPMORGAN Chase Bank in this index.

Its $525 annual fee is higher than 20 of the 23 sibling filings that state one.

The limits of this document

The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate and a grace period. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

The document itself

The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs 22 pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.

In short

Against that sits the $525 annual fee, which is unavoidable once the account is open. Given the parsing confidence on this filing, read the agreement itself before treating any of these figures as settled.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement JPMORGAN Chase Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by JPMORGAN Chase Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to JPMORGAN Chase Bank

Other cards from JPMORGAN Chase Bank

All 26 agreements from JPMORGAN Chase Bank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.