Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

JPMORGAN Chase Bank

Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table
Balance transfer APR16.74%
Cash advance APR28.49%
Annual fee$550
Late payment fee$0
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeNone
Balance transfer feeEither $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater.
Minimum interest charge$0

Analysis

The Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table filing from JPMORGAN Chase Bank sets out a $550 annual fee.

What the agreement puts on the record

JPMORGAN Chase Bank submitted the terms for Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. The filing runs 21 pages.

The filing is explicit about a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. It is silent on a purchase rate, a penalty rate and a grace period.

Confidence in the parse of this filing is moderate rather than high, so the figures below are best checked against the original.

The grace period

No minimum interest charge is imposed, so a cycle that accrues a few cents of interest is billed a few cents.

Penalty pricing and late fees

Late payments are capped at $0 under this filing, about the 2nd percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

What the card costs before you borrow

$550 a year is the disclosed annual fee, which ranks near the 99th percentile of the fees filed across this corpus.

Taking cash against the card means a cash advance APR of 28.49%. The grace period described below generally does not extend to cash advances, so interest on them usually begins immediately.

Moving a balance onto this card carries an up-front charge of $5 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater, with the transferred balance priced at 16.74%. Transferring $2,000 would cost roughly $100 at the door.

No foreign transaction fee is charged, which puts this filing in the roughly 22% of disclosing agreements here that do not take a cut of overseas spending.

Inside JPMORGAN Chase Bank's filed lineup

26 separate JPMORGAN Chase Bank filings appear in the corpus.

Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 21 of 23 come in below this card's $550.

The limits of this document

This page cannot tell you a purchase rate, a grace period and penalty pricing, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

Go to the source

The original filing, 21 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

The $550 annual fee is charged regardless of use, so it is a cost that applies even to an account that never revolves. All of this rests on figures read from the filing with less than full confidence, which is reason enough to check the document before relying on any of it.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement JPMORGAN Chase Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by JPMORGAN Chase Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to JPMORGAN Chase Bank

Other cards from JPMORGAN Chase Bank

All 26 agreements from JPMORGAN Chase Bank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.