Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

JPMORGAN Chase Bank

Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

The annual fee is disclosed as waived for the first year. The recurring fee from year two is the number that matters over the life of the account.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table
Introductory APR28.49%
Balance transfer APR17.49%
Cash advance APR28.49%
Penalty APR29.99%
Annual fee$49
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction fee3%
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each transaction, whichever is greater.
Balance transfer feeEither $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater.
Minimum interest charge$0

Analysis

JPMORGAN Chase Bank's filed agreement for Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table discloses a $49 annual fee, a 28.49% introductory rate and a 29.99% penalty rate.

The disclosed terms

JPMORGAN Chase Bank filed this agreement for Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The filing runs 22 pages.

Terms captured from the document include a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. No figure appears for a purchase rate and a grace period.

These figures carry medium extraction confidence — they are reproduced as read from the filing, which remains the authority.

What the promotional rate is worth

The filing discloses an introductory rate of 28.49% but no term for it.

Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 28.49% sits at about the 99th percentile.

Charges beyond interest

The annual fee is $49, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 87th percentile.

The filing states the fee is waived for the first year, so the $49 is a second-year cost rather than an immediate one.

Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 28.49%. The two halves of that fee cross at about $200: below it the flat $10 applies, above it the percentage does.

Moving a balance onto this card carries an up-front charge of $5 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater, with the transferred balance priced at 17.49%. Transferring $1,000 would cost roughly $50 at the door.

Foreign transactions attract 3%. On $2,000 of overseas spending that is $60, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.

That is at the high end of this corpus — around the 91st percentile of disclosed foreign transaction fees.

The no-interest path

The filing sets the minimum interest charge at zero — small balances are not rounded up to a floor.

When a payment is late

A penalty APR of 29.99% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 61st percentile.

Late payments are capped at $40 under this filing, about the 72nd percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

The issuer's other agreements

This is one of 26 JPMORGAN Chase Bank agreements collected here.

What you cannot learn from the filing

This page cannot tell you a purchase rate and a grace period, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

Where the authority sits

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — 22 pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

The $49 annual fee is charged regardless of use, so it is a cost that applies even to an account that never revolves. All of this rests on figures read from the filing with less than full confidence, which is reason enough to check the document before relying on any of it.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement JPMORGAN Chase Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by JPMORGAN Chase Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to JPMORGAN Chase Bank

Other cards from JPMORGAN Chase Bank

All 26 agreements from JPMORGAN Chase Bank