Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

JPMORGAN Chase Bank

Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

The annual fee is disclosed as waived for the first year. The recurring fee from year two is the number that matters over the life of the account.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table
Balance transfer APR19.24%
Cash advance APR28.49%
Penalty APR29.99%
Annual fee$250
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each transaction, whichever is greater.
Balance transfer feeEither $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater.
Minimum interest charge$0

Analysis

On the record for Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table: a $250 annual fee and a 29.99% penalty rate, filed by JPMORGAN Chase Bank.

What the document actually states

JPMORGAN Chase Bank submitted the terms for Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. The filing runs 22 pages.

On the record here: a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. It is silent on a purchase rate and a grace period.

Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.

Where the fees are

The annual fee is $250, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 98th percentile.

A first-year waiver applies according to the document — the $250 begins biting in year two.

For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 28.49%. The two halves of that fee cross at about $200: below it the flat $10 applies, above it the percentage does.

Moving a balance onto this card carries an up-front charge of $5 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater, with the transferred balance priced at 19.24%. Transferring $2,000 would cost roughly $100 at the door.

The foreign transaction fee is zero — a minority position in this corpus, where roughly 22% of disclosing filings waive it.

The downside terms

A penalty APR of 29.99% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 61st percentile.

Late payments are capped at $40 under this filing, about the 72nd percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

The grace period

The filing sets the minimum interest charge at zero — small balances are not rounded up to a floor.

Against the rest of JPMORGAN Chase Bank's filings

JPMORGAN Chase Bank has 26 agreements indexed on this site.

Its $250 annual fee is higher than 18 of the 23 sibling filings that state one.

What the filing does not tell you

The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate and a grace period. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

Reading the agreement yourself

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, 22 pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

Against that sits the $250 annual fee, which is unavoidable once the account is open. Extraction confidence here is not high, so the conclusions above are provisional on the PDF agreeing with them.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement JPMORGAN Chase Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by JPMORGAN Chase Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to JPMORGAN Chase Bank

Other cards from JPMORGAN Chase Bank

All 26 agreements from JPMORGAN Chase Bank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.