Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 9.9%–17.9% |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $35 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 1% |
| Cash advance fee | 3% of the amount of each |
| Balance transfer fee | 3% of the amount of each |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
On the record for Visa Credit Card Agreement: a purchase APR of 9.9%–17.9% and no annual fee, filed by Marriott Employees Federal Credit Union. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 24th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.
What the document actually states
Marriott Employees Federal Credit Union submitted the terms for Visa Credit Card Agreement to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs 24 pages.
The disclosure covers a purchase rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate are not stated.
The purchase APR against the corpus
The purchase APR is quoted as a range of 9.9% to 17.9%. That 8-point spread is the whole of what the filing commits to; the method for assigning a rate inside it is not in the document.
The floor of that band sits at about the 10th percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 24th. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.
What the rate means in dollars
The purchase rate turns a $1,000 revolving balance into roughly $196 of annual interest.
The corpus median purchase rate is 21.99%, which on the same $1,000 would cost about $246 a year. This filing saves roughly $50 annually against that benchmark.
That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.
The no-interest path
Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies.
The downside terms
On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $35, which is around the 54th percentile here.
What the card costs before you borrow
There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.
Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of 3%.
Transfers are charged 3% of the amount transferred, though no distinct transfer APR appears in the document. Transferring $7,500 would cost roughly $225 at the door.
Foreign transactions attract 1%. On $2,000 of overseas spending that is $20, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.
What you cannot learn from the filing
This page cannot tell you penalty pricing, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain it.
It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.
Go to the source
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — 24 pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
The pricing here is middling by the standards of the index — 17.9% on purchases is near enough to typical. With no annual fee, the cost of the account is entirely a function of whether a balance is carried.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Marriott Employees Federal Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Marriott Employees Federal Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Marriott Employees Federal Credit Union
This is the only agreement from Marriott Employees Federal Credit Union in the database with enough disclosed terms to publish. See the issuer's full filing list.
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.